Redding DMV Office: Hours, Services & Appointment Guide
The full-service DMV field office for Redding and all of Shasta County — 2135 Civic Center Drive, downtown, open Monday to Friday with a Wednesday 9:00 am start, knowledge and behind-the-wheel tests, and REAL ID. It is closed every Saturday and Sunday, it has no self-service kiosk inside the office, and it is closed Wednesday, November 11 for Veterans Day. Renewals, records, and replacement licenses get no counter service here. Independent guide, verified against dmv.ca.gov.
TL;DR
- Address: 2135 Civic Center Drive, Redding, CA 96001 — downtown Redding, in the Civic Center and City Hall area. The address is confirmed on the DMV’s own office page, its place listing, and several official partner pages, and it was re-checked visually on dmv.ca.gov on November 7, 2026.
- Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm; Wednesday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm; closed Saturday and Sunday. There is no Saturday opening at Redding and no 7:00 am Wednesday early opening — pages that claim either are wrong.
- This week (November 9–13, 2026): open Monday November 9, Tuesday November 10, Thursday November 12, and Friday November 13. Closed Wednesday, November 11 for Veterans Day — the DMV’s own banner says all California field offices are closed that day, and the office’s own dated calendar shows it.
- Phone: 1-800-777-0133 — the statewide DMV number. No office-direct number is published for Redding; no local number appears on the official Redding page at all.
- Appointments: book on dmv.ca.gov or by phone at 1-800-777-0133. An appointment is the shortest route to the counter, and the behind-the-wheel drive test is booked as an appointment. The DMV also offers Get in Line, its same-day virtual queue, started from home. No Redding-specific walk-in policy is published, so do not count on walking in for a drive test.
- Kiosk: no — there is no self-service kiosk inside the Redding field office. The official page carries no kiosk banner and lists no “Self Service Terminals” service. The nearest DMV Now kiosk is at FoodMaxx, 1330 Churn Creek Rd, open daily 6:00 am to midnight.
- Tests: the office lists “Testing” among its services, which covers the written knowledge test and the behind-the-wheel drive test. The official page states no motorcycle drive testing and no commercial drive testing at Redding, so this guide asserts neither.
- REAL ID: offered here. A first-time REAL ID is an in-person visit with original documents — start the application online at REALID.dmv.ca.gov, upload your documents, print the confirmation code, and bring the code and the originals to the office to finish.
- Shasta County has one full-service office, not several: Redding is the county seat and the county’s only field office. Anderson has no DMV field office at all — only two registration partners — and Shasta Lake has a registration-services partner, not an office.
- Skip the counter: registration renewals, license and ID renewals (unless your notice says in-person), driver and vehicle records, and replacement licenses have no counter service — do them online, at the FoodMaxx kiosk, through a DMV partner, or by mail, and do not drive to Civic Center Drive for them.
- Nearest alternatives if Redding is closed or booked: Red Bluff is about 29 miles south but open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday only; Weaverville is about 31 miles west but open Tuesdays and Thursdays only with a lunch closure; Chico is about 70 miles south, full-service, and open all weekdays with a kiosk inside.
1The office at a glance: Shasta County’s county-seat office
Redding is a city in and the county seat of Shasta County, California, and the economic and cultural capital of the Shasta Cascade region of Northern California. At the 2020 census Redding had 93,611 people, and Shasta County had 182,155 — Redding is the largest city in the county and the place its government sits. The city stands at the northern end of the Sacramento Valley at the base of the Shasta Cascades, about 110 miles south of the Oregon border on Interstate 5 and about 140 miles east of the Pacific Ocean on State Highway 299. It was incorporated in 1887 and became the county seat in 1888, named after railroad official Benjamin B. Redding.
That geography is the whole reason this office matters. Redding is the regional hub for the far north of California: the only full-service DMV field office in Shasta County, serving not just Redding itself but the smaller towns around it that have no office of their own — Anderson, Shasta Lake, Palo Cedro, Cottonwood, and the communities up Highway 299 toward Weaverville and up Interstate 5 toward Yreka. A reader in Red Bluff has a part-time office of their own; a reader in Anderson does not, and their nearest counter is this one, about ten miles north on Interstate 5. A reader in Weaverville has a two-day-a-week office; a reader who needs a full-service visit on any other day drives to Redding.
The office itself is a standard California field office, not a large metro branch. Its official page lists eight service groups — licensing, testing, title transfers, registration, plates and permits and placards, replacements, records, and miscellaneous original documents — and it carries no kiosk banner and no “Self Service Terminals” line. That last detail is the single most important difference between Redding and the other full-service offices in this guide series: Chico, Yuba City, and Eureka all have a self-service kiosk inside the office, and their pages say so. Redding does not, and its page says nothing of the kind. Anyone who walks into the Redding office expecting to use a kiosk will not find one; the kiosk for this area sits in a grocery store instead, at FoodMaxx on Churn Creek Road, open daily from 6:00 am to midnight.
This guide is an independent guide, not a DMV publication. Every address, hour, service, kiosk, and partner in it comes from dmv.ca.gov itself — the office’s own page, read live on November 7, 2026, with the address line, the Yreka hours calendar, and the Weaverville address re-checked visually in a live browser the same day — and every figure that could not be verified is left out rather than guessed. Where the internet disagrees with the DMV about this office, this page names the disagreement and sides with the DMV.
2Address — Civic Center Drive, downtown Redding
The Redding DMV field office is at 2135 Civic Center Drive, Redding, CA 96001. It sits in downtown Redding, in the Civic Center and City Hall area — the civic heart of the city, not a highway-side strip. The 96001 ZIP is the office’s own ZIP; Redding also uses 96002 and 96003, and the kiosk and partners in this guide sit across all three, so do not assume a Redding address in 96002 or 96003 is the field office.
The address is confirmed four ways, and the redundancy matters because the office’s own page does not render its address line in a text crawl — the same rendering quirk seen on the Chico office page. The DMV’s place listing for Redding gives 2135 Civic Center Drive with the office’s operating status as Active, phone 1-800-777-0133, and coordinates 40.575559, -122.380248. The official partner pages for CVPRS, Cramer Truck Permit Service, and Registration Express Group each restate the Redding office at the same address with the same hours. The qr.dmv.ca.gov mirror of the Redding page agrees. And the address line was read visually from the rendered official page in a live browser on November 7, 2026: 2135 Civic Center Drive, Redding, CA 96001. Third-party listings — driving schools, review aggregators, and office maps — all give the identical address, which is reassuring but not the reason this page prints it; the DMV’s own pages are.
Two things this guide does not claim about the location. It does not name a cross-street, an Interstate 5 exit number, or a landmark distance — none was verified on dmv.ca.gov, and the Sundial Bridge, Redding’s best-known landmark over the Sacramento River at Turtle Bay, is mentioned here only as orientation colour: the office is downtown, a short drive from the Sundial Bridge area. No distance or drive time from the bridge to the DMV is stated, because none was verified. And it does not describe parking at all: parking information is not published by the DMV for this office, so this guide prints no parking claim — no “free parking”, no lot size, no street-parking advice. If parking matters to your visit, plan for downtown street and lot parking and arrive early enough to walk.
For navigation, use the official office page rather than a search-result snippet: dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/redding/. One URL warning: the guessed pattern dmv.ca.gov/portal/locations/dmv-field-office/redding/ does not resolve — the same pattern failed for Chico — so do not use it, and do not trust a page that links it. The DMV’s office locator is at dmv.ca.gov/portal/locations/.
3Hours — five days a week, Wednesday opens at nine, and the Veterans Day week
The Redding DMV keeps the standard California field-office hours pattern: five days a week, a one-hour-later start on Wednesdays, and closed weekends. The table below is taken from the office’s own dated two-week calendar on dmv.ca.gov, read live on November 7, 2026, covering the weeks of November 2–7 and November 9–14, 2026.
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| Monday | 8:00 am – 5:00 pm |
| Tuesday | 8:00 am – 5:00 pm |
| Wednesday | 9:00 am – 5:00 pm (one hour later start) |
| Thursday | 8:00 am – 5:00 pm |
| Friday | 8:00 am – 5:00 pm |
| Saturday | Closed |
| Sunday | Closed |
Three things in that table deserve emphasis, because each one is something the internet gets wrong about Redding. First, Saturday is never open. The office is closed every Saturday and every Sunday, and no Saturday hours exist for Redding on the DMV’s calendar. Any page that claims Saturday hours for Redding — or that applies a statewide “some offices open Saturdays” line to this office — is wrong. Second, Wednesday opens at 9:00 am, not 7:00 am. A generic statewide hours guide claims that dozens of high-volume offices open at 7:00 am on Wednesdays; that claim is false for Redding, where Wednesday is the latest start of the week, not the earliest. Third, the Wednesday start is the only variation in the week: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday are all 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, and the office closes at 5:00 pm every day it opens.
The week of November 9–13, 2026 is the week that proves the calendar matters. Monday November 9 is 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Tuesday November 10 is 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Wednesday November 11 is closed, Thursday November 12 is 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, and Friday November 13 is 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. November 11 is Veterans Day, a state holiday, and the DMV’s own banner on the Redding page says all California field offices are closed that day in observance of Veterans Day. The dated calendar shows the closure explicitly. Anyone who drives to Civic Center Drive on Wednesday, November 11 will find a closed office, and the same rule applies on other state holidays: field offices close on state holidays, and the honest advice is to check the office’s own dated calendar on dmv.ca.gov before any holiday visit rather than trusting a holiday list on a third-party page. This guide prints no holiday list beyond Veterans Day 2026, because only that date is evidenced on the fetched calendar.
One timing note, attributed rather than asserted as DMV text: Redding driving schools advise arriving well before 4:30 pm for a knowledge test, saying knowledge tests are not given after that time. That is a driving-school claim, not a line on the DMV’s Redding page, so this guide repeats it only as advice from the schools and labels it as such. The safe reading is the same either way: do not plan a knowledge test for the last hour of the day. And a general warning that applies to every office in this guide series: hours on a search-result snippet can be stale. The dated two-week calendar on the office’s own page is the authority, and it is the only hours source this page uses.
4Services at this office
The official Redding page lists eight service groups under “Services Provided”. The table below gives each group and what it covers in plain language, at category level only — because the official page lists categories, not an itemised menu, and this guide does not invent a line-by-line menu the DMV never published.
| Service group | What it covers |
|---|---|
| Licensing Services | Driver’s license and ID card applications, including REAL ID and first licenses |
| Testing | Written knowledge test and behind-the-wheel drive test (see section 6) |
| Title Transfers | Transferring a vehicle title to a new owner |
| Registration | Vehicle registration transactions that need a counter visit |
| Plates, Permits, & Placards | Special and personalized plates, permits, and disabled placards |
| Replace Lost/Stolen/Damaged | Replacement licenses, ID cards, plates, stickers, and titles |
| Records | Driver and vehicle record requests |
| Request miscellaneous original documents | Other original-document requests handled at the counter |
Two absences in that list are as informative as the eight entries. The page does not list “Self Service Terminals” — Chico lists it as a ninth service group, and Redding lists only eight — which is the official evidence that there is no kiosk inside this office. And the page states no motorcycle drive testing and no commercial drive testing at Redding. That does not mean the office never handles those tests; it means the official page does not say it does, and this guide asserts neither. The contrast is instructive: the Yuba City office page explicitly notes a 40-foot vehicle limit for its commercial tests, which shows the DMV does publish such limits when they apply. Redding carries no such note, so this guide says nothing about motorcycle or commercial testing at Redding beyond the “Testing” category itself.
The other boundary worth knowing before you drive is the one the DMV states statewide: routine renewals, records, and replacements get no counter service. A registration renewal, a license or ID renewal (unless your notice says in-person), a driver or vehicle record, or a replacement license is an online, kiosk, partner, or mail transaction — not a reason to stand in the Civic Center Drive line. The counter is for the visits that genuinely need a person: a first license or REAL ID with original documents, a knowledge or drive test, a title transfer, a registration that cannot be done online, and a plate, permit, or placard that needs the office. If your errand is on the no-counter list, section 8 is the faster route.
Payments at the counter are exactly what the official page says, verbatim: DMV field offices accept Cash, Check, Credit Card, Debit Card, Digital Wallet, and Money order. This guide adds no payment claims of its own — no surcharge figures, no “no cash” claims, no card-brand claims — because none are stated officially for this office. One related figure belongs in its proper place only: AAA’s own site says a fee of up to 1.72% applies when paying for a DMV transaction by credit card at AAA. That is an AAA fee, not a DMV fee, and it is mentioned here only so nobody attaches it to the field office.
5Appointments: how to book, what needs one, and walk-ins
Appointments at the Redding DMV are booked the same way as at every California field office: online through the DMV’s appointment system at dmv.ca.gov, or by phone at 1-800-777-0133. Booking is free — appointments on dmv.ca.gov cost nothing, and any site that charges a booking fee is not the DMV. The DMV’s appointment page is at dmv.ca.gov/portal/make-an-appointment/, and the flow is the familiar one: choose the service, choose Redding as the location, and pick a date and time. The phone number is the statewide DMV number, answered by the DMV’s automated system around the clock with representatives on weekdays; field offices do not publish direct local numbers, and no local number for Redding appears on dmv.ca.gov.
The DMV also offers Get in Line, its same-day virtual queue, started from home on dmv.ca.gov. Get in Line is the official alternative to a future-dated appointment: join the line from home instead of booking days ahead. This guide describes it as an option that exists and does not promise same-day availability at Redding, because no Redding-specific availability is published and the live numbers change by the minute. The DMV’s own wait-times page, dmv.ca.gov/portal/current-field-office-wait-times/, publishes live appointment and non-appointment waits per office; this guide links it rather than printing any wait-time minutes, because a snapshot taken during research is already stale by the time anyone reads it. No wait-time minutes for Redding appear anywhere on this page, by design.
What needs an appointment, and what does not need a visit at all, is the practical question. The behind-the-wheel drive test is booked as an appointment, and a first-time REAL ID is an in-person visit with original documents — those are the two visits that punish an unprepared arrival most, and both are covered in sections 6 and 7. Many other transactions never need the office: renewals, records, and replacements are online, kiosk, partner, or mail work, as section 4 explains. What this guide does not state is any Redding-specific walk-in policy, because none is published on the office’s own page. The honest framing is: book an appointment online or by phone for the shortest visit, use Get in Line as the same-day option, and do not count on walking in for a drive test.
The internet is confidently wrong about this subject in ways that cost Redding readers a wasted drive. One large content farm claims walk-ins ended statewide during the pandemic and never returned, that appointments are typically available within two to four weeks, and that a road test can be booked up to 60 days in advance — none of which is verified for Redding, and the same site contradicts itself on the number of California field offices, printing 41 on one page and 44 on another. Another appointment guide generalises about urban offices being four to ten weeks out and booking being available 24 hours a day — statewide generalisations, not Redding facts. This page repeats none of those claims. The appointment section that says only what dmv.ca.gov itself says, links to the official appointment page, and refuses to invent lead times is the honest one, and honesty is the differentiator here. For the statewide picture of how appointments, walk-ins, and same-day check-in work, see our California DMV appointment guide.
6Driving tests at Redding: knowledge and behind-the-wheel — and what is not stated
The Redding office lists “Testing” among its services, which covers the written knowledge test and the behind-the-wheel drive test. Both are office visits: the knowledge test is taken at the office, and the drive test is booked as an appointment through dmv.ca.gov and taken in a roadworthy, registered, insured vehicle you bring with you. Bring the vehicle’s registration and proof of insurance, and bring the documents the appointment confirmation asks for; the pre-drive check covers the vehicle’s roadworthiness before the test begins. This guide does not describe a test route, does not suggest one, and does not link one — routes are never published, and any page that prints a “Redding DMV test route” is inventing it.
For Redding’s teenagers, this office is the permit and first-license office. Redding has eight active public high schools inside city limits or with a Redding mailing address, with 3,230 students enrolled in the 2025–26 school year, according to the California Department of Education school directory as cited by a Redding driving school — a steady flow of first permits and drive tests comes through this office every school year. The permit path, as described in the California Driver Handbook via the Redding driving-school sources, is: a minimum age of 15½; a 30-hour DMV-approved driver education course with the DL 400C certificate of completion; a parent or guardian signature on the DL 44 application; a vision test and a knowledge test at the office; then six hours of professional behind-the-wheel training and 50 hours of supervised practice, including 10 hours at night, before the drive test. Those ages and requirements are labelled as handbook guidance via the driving-school sources rather than asserted as DMV text, because the official Redding page lists only the “Testing” category. This guide also prints no knowledge-test question count and no pass mark: one Redding drivers-ed page states a specific question count and pass mark for the permit test, but question counts are a locked-plan gate and are never printed as fact on this site, however confidently a competitor prints them.
Three DMV-licensed driving schools operate in Redding, listed here as a neutral fact for families choosing a school, with their licence numbers as given by Stallion Drivers Ed citing the DMV occupational-licence lookup: A Plus Safety LLC (licence E4533, 2765 Bechelli Lane), Moras Driving School (licence E2044, 810 Lake Blvd Unit F), and Redding Driving School (licence E4416, 3264 Bechelli Ln). They are driving schools, not DMV partners, and this guide presents them only as schools. A retest waiting period is sometimes quoted online for a failed drive test; this guide does not state one as a Redding fact, because no Redding-specific retest interval is verified. For the statewide drive-test process — booking, the pre-drive check, what to bring, and how retakes work — see our driving test appointment guide.
7REAL ID at Redding
A REAL ID is offered at the Redding office, and a first-time REAL ID is an in-person visit. The process the DMV describes is: start the application online at REALID.dmv.ca.gov, fill out the application, upload your documents, and print the confirmation code — then bring the confirmation code and your original documents to the office to finish. The office visit is where the application is completed; the online start is what makes the visit short. Bring originals only: the DMV does not accept photocopies for a REAL ID, and the exact document list is the DMV’s REAL ID document checklist on dmv.ca.gov, which this guide points to rather than reproducing as an exhaustive list. A checklist copied into a guide goes stale; the DMV’s own checklist does not.
Two things this section deliberately does not contain. It states no REAL ID fee figure and no enforcement date, because both are locked-plan gates: the fee figure and the enforcement date that circulate online are not verified for this page, and a REAL ID section that prints them would be guessing at the two facts readers most need to be right. And it does not promise that a REAL ID can be finished in a single quick visit without an appointment — book the visit, bring the confirmation code and the originals, and expect the office to verify the documents in person. For the full REAL ID picture — the document list, the in-person rule, and how to start online before your visit — see our REAL ID appointment guide.
8Kiosk — there is none inside this office — and how to skip the trip entirely
Here is the fact that separates this page from every other Redding guide on the internet: there is no self-service kiosk inside the Redding field office. The official Redding page carries no “This office has a self-serve kiosk to avoid waiting in line” banner — the banner that the Chico, Yuba City, and Eureka pages all carry — and it lists no “Self Service Terminals” service. Chico lists nine service groups including the terminals; Redding lists eight, without them. The absence is the evidence, and it is verified, not assumed: the page was read in full, twice, and the kiosk language is not there. Anyone who tells you to “use the kiosk at the Redding DMV” has not read the office’s own page.
The kiosk for Redding sits in a grocery store instead. The official Redding page lists one DMV Now kiosk among its nearby locations:
| Kiosk | Location | Hours |
|---|---|---|
| FoodMaxx in Redding | 1330 Churn Creek Rd., Redding, CA 96003 | Mon–Sun 6:00 am – 12:00 am |
DMV Now kiosks handle registration renewal, replacement stickers and registration cards, and driver and vehicle record requests; the exact range varies by kiosk location, per dmv.ca.gov, so this guide does not publish an exhaustive kiosk transaction menu. One caution about the hours: a third-party kiosk aggregator lists wildly different hours for the FoodMaxx kiosk, 5:00 am to 2:00 am daily. The official Redding page says Monday to Sunday 6:00 am to midnight, and this page uses the official hours and ignores the aggregator. No other kiosk in the Redding area was verified on dmv.ca.gov in this research, so no other kiosk is listed here; kiosks from aggregator sites were not added without verification on dmv.ca.gov.
If your errand is registration-only, the office’s seven DMV-authorized business partners may be faster than the counter — and one of them is open on Saturdays, when the field office is closed. All seven are listed on the official Redding page, and the table below reproduces them exactly as the DMV lists them. “Additional fees may be applied by this partner” is the DMV’s verbatim wording, and it applies to every row: partners charge their own fees on top of the DMV’s, and this guide states no partner fee figure because none is published on the official page.
| Partner | Address | Hours | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|
| Red Tape Registration Solutions | 2434 Progress Dr, Redding, CA 96001 | Mon–Sat 10:00 am – 6:00 pm; Sun closed | 1-530-638-5175 |
| AAA Redding Branch (member use only) | 943 Mission De Oro Dr, Redding, CA 96003 | Mon–Fri 9:00 am – 6:00 pm; Sat 9:00 am – 4:30 pm; Sun closed | 1-530-722-1600 |
| Registration Express Group, Inc – Redding | 1805 Hilltop Dr, Ste 101, Redding, CA 96002 | Mon–Fri 7:30 am – 5:30 pm; Sat 9:00 am – 5:30 pm; Sun closed | 1-530-222-4700 |
| Chiew Insurance Services | 1355 E Cypress Ave, Redding, CA 96002 | Mon–Sat 10:00 am – 6:00 pm; Sun closed | 1-530-338-2770 |
| I 5 Auto Reg Services (Shasta Lake) | 3100 Cascade Blvd, Shasta Lake, CA 96019 | Mon–Fri 9:00 am – 6:00 pm; Sat–Sun closed | 1-435-222-4464 |
| Cramer Truck Permit Service (Anderson) | 5200 Industrial Way Ste A, Anderson, CA 96007 | Mon–Fri 8:00 am – 5:00 pm; Sat–Sun closed | 1-530-365-2100 |
| CVPRS (Anderson) | 19902 Hirsch Court, Anderson, CA 96007 | Mon–Fri 8:00 am – 5:00 pm; Sat–Sun closed | 1-530-378-6962 |
Three rows deserve a note. Registration Express Group is the earliest-opening partner at 7:30 am on weekdays and is open on Saturdays — genuinely useful for a registration-only errand when the field office is closed. AAA Redding Branch is member use only: do not present AAA as a walk-in public alternative. The hours printed here are the branch hours from the official DMV page; AAA’s own site lists slightly different DMV service hours, and this guide prints the official page’s hours rather than AAA’s. I 5 Auto Reg Services sits in Shasta Lake, not Redding, and its phone area code is 435 exactly as printed on the official page — do not “correct” it to a California code. Cramer Truck Permit Service and CVPRS sit in Anderson and are truck-permit and registration specialists. No partner beyond these seven may be presented as a DMV partner on this page: no other Redding registration service, driving school, or third-party “DMV services” business is listed on the official Redding page, so none is listed here. For the statewide kiosk picture, see our DMV kiosk guide.
9Shasta County guide: which town, which office
Shasta County has one full-service DMV field office, and it is this one. That single fact answers most “which office” questions in the county, but the towns around Redding each have their own trap, and this section names them plainly.
Anderson has no DMV field office. Anderson, about ten miles south of Redding on Interstate 5, has two DMV-authorized registration partners — Cramer Truck Permit Service and CVPRS, both in the table above — for registration services only. It has no field office, and no dmv.ca.gov field-office page for Anderson exists. Yet a search for “DMV Anderson CA” finds a content-farm page claiming Anderson “has a DMV office that serves Shasta County” and that it is “open Monday through Friday”. That claim is unverified and wrong. A reader who drives to Anderson expecting a field office will find a partner’s storefront, not a counter — and for licences, tests, and REAL ID, the correct destination is the Redding office. This guide states the correction in one line so the search itself is answered: Anderson has no DMV field office; it has two registration partners; for licences, tests, and REAL ID, use Redding.
Shasta Lake has no field office either. I 5 Auto Reg Services sits at 3100 Cascade Blvd in Shasta Lake, and it is a registration-services business, not a field office. The same rule applies: registration-only errands can go there; licences, tests, and REAL ID go to Redding.
There is no “Mt Shasta DMV”. One Redding drivers-ed page names a “Mt Shasta DMV” as a nearby alternative. No dmv.ca.gov field-office page for a Mount Shasta office was verified, and this guide does not list one. The nearest verified offices north of Redding are Yreka, about 100 miles up Interstate 5, and Weaverville, about 31 miles west on Highway 299 — both covered in section 10. Corning has no field office. Do not list any of these towns as office alternatives.
Within Redding itself, the demand on this office is steady and specific. Eight public high schools and 3,230 students in the 2025–26 school year mean a constant stream of first permits at age 15½ and first drive tests, and the three licensed driving schools in section 6 exist because of it. Shasta College, the community college whose main campus is in Redding, adds its own flow of new adult drivers and new residents; no enrolment figure is stated here because none was retrieved. New California residents have the two deadlines this site states everywhere and never mixes up: vehicle registration within 20 days and a licence within 10 days. And the county’s geography — Interstate 5 running north-south, Highway 299 running west to Weaverville and Eureka, Highway 44 running east — is why the alternatives section matters: when Redding is closed or booked, the next office is never next door.
10If Redding is closed or booked: the nearest alternatives
When the Redding office is closed — a Saturday, a Sunday, Veterans Day — or when its appointments are booked out, the alternatives are five verified offices, each with its own trap. Every office below was verified on its own official dmv.ca.gov page, and the hours are the office’s own hours, not a third-party summary. Distances are approximate driving distances from third-party distance sources, labelled as approximate; the days and hours are the facts that matter, because three of the five alternatives are part-time offices that are closed on the very days a stranded reader is most likely to drive to them.
| Office | Address | Hours | About |
|---|---|---|---|
| Red Bluff DMV | 675 Monroe St, Red Bluff, CA 96080 | Mon & Fri 8:00 am – 5:00 pm; Wed 9:00 am – 5:00 pm; Tue & Thu closed; Sat–Sun closed | About 29 miles south via I-5, about 35–40 minutes. Nearest office — but part-time: closed Tuesdays and Thursdays. |
| Weaverville DMV | 1511 Main St, Weaverville, CA 96093 | Tue & Thu only, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, closed 12:00 – 1:15 pm for lunch | About 31 miles west via SR 299, about 45 minutes. Part-time: open only Tuesdays and Thursdays, with a lunch closure. |
| Yreka DMV | 1848 Fort Jones Rd, Yreka, CA 96097 | Mon & Fri 8:00 am – 5:00 pm; Wed 9:00 am – 5:00 pm; Tue & Thu closed; Sat–Sun closed | About 100 miles north via I-5, about 1¾ hours. Part-time: open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday only. |
| Chico DMV | 107 Parmac Rd #1, Chico, CA 95926 | Mon–Fri 8:00 am – 5:00 pm; Wed 9:00 am – 5:00 pm; Sat–Sun closed | About 71–73 miles south via I-5, about 1½ hours. Full-service, open all weekdays, with a kiosk on site. |
| Eureka DMV | 2500 6th St, Eureka, CA 95501 | Mon–Fri 8:00 am – 5:00 pm; Wed 9:00 am – 5:00 pm; Sat–Sun closed | About 140 miles west via SR 299, about 3 hours. Full-service with a kiosk on site — a last resort, not a practical alternative. |
Red Bluff is the nearest alternative and the single most useful fact in this section: it is about 29 miles south on Interstate 5, but it is open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday only — closed Tuesdays and Thursdays, and closed weekends. A reader who drives to Red Bluff on a Tuesday finds a closed office. Its hours were verified on the official Red Bluff page calendar for the week of November 2–6, 2026: Monday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Tuesday closed, Wednesday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Thursday closed, Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Red Bluff has no kiosk and no commercial drive test, so kiosk business goes to Chico and the FoodMaxx kiosk in Redding. Our Red Bluff guide covers it in full, including the Willows Tuesday-and-Thursday interlock: on the days Red Bluff is closed, the Willows office, open Tuesdays and Thursdays only, is the corridor’s open office instead.
Weaverville is the westward alternative, about 31 miles west on State Highway 299, and it is the most restricted office in this table: open only Tuesdays and Thursdays, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, and closed from 12:00 pm to 1:15 pm for lunch. The lunch closure is stated twice on the office’s own page — once as a notice, once in the location notice — and it was confirmed visually in a live browser on November 7, 2026. The address was also confirmed visually the same day: 1511 Main Street, Weaverville, CA 96093. One dmv.ca.gov place-listing snippet gives 1261 Main St; the office page itself shows 1511 Main Street, and this guide uses the office page. The official page also carries a walk-in notice worth quoting in substance: walk-ins are served as time and space allow, and because of high volume a visitor without an appointment may not be served. Weaverville is the right choice only on a Tuesday or Thursday, and only outside the lunch hour.
Yreka is the northward alternative, about 100 miles up Interstate 5, and it follows the Red Bluff pattern: Monday and Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Wednesday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Tuesday and Thursday closed, weekends closed. Its hours calendar did not render in a text crawl, so the calendar was re-checked visually in a live browser on November 7, 2026, and it matches exactly: Sunday November 1 closed, Monday November 2 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Tuesday November 3 closed, Wednesday November 4 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Thursday November 5 closed, Friday November 6 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Saturday November 7 closed. Yreka is worth the drive only for a reader already heading north on Interstate 5.
Chico is the nearest full-week, full-service alternative south of Red Bluff: about 71 to 73 miles driving via Interstate 5, about an hour and a half, open Monday to Friday with the same Wednesday 9:00 am start, and with a self-service kiosk on site — the kiosk Redding itself lacks. If the Redding appointment you need is booked out and the errand cannot wait for a part-time office’s open day, Chico is the practical fallback. Our Chico guide covers it in full. Eureka, about 140 miles west via Highway 299 and about three hours away, is listed only as a last resort: a three-hour mountain drive is not a practical alternative for most Redding readers, and this guide says so rather than presenting it as an equal option. For registration-only errands, the faster alternatives are usually closer to home: the FoodMaxx kiosk in Redding, or a partner from section 8 — including Registration Express Group, open Saturdays when every field office in this section is closed.
11Best time to visit, what to bring, and getting there
There is no verified “best time” for the Redding office, and this guide does not invent one. No wait-time minutes are printed anywhere on this page, and no best-hour claim is made, because the live numbers change by the minute and any fixed claim would be stale the day it is read. What can be said honestly is structural: the office is closed weekends, Wednesday opens an hour late, and Veterans Day and other state holidays close it entirely — so a visit planned around those three facts, booked as an appointment, and started online where possible is the visit most likely to succeed. Check the live wait times on the DMV’s own page before you leave, and check the office’s dated calendar before a holiday visit.
What to bring depends on the visit, and the list below is general DMV guidance, not a Redding-specific checklist — the DMV’s own pages are the authority for the exact documents, and a checklist copied here would go stale.
REAL ID or first license or ID card: complete the application online first at REALID.dmv.ca.gov, upload your documents, print the confirmation code, and bring the code and your original documents to the office to finish. Originals only — no photocopies. Check the DMV’s REAL ID document checklist for the exact documents.
Learner’s permit (under 18): the DL 400C certificate from a 30-hour driver education course, the DL 44 application signed by a parent or guardian, and proof of identity and residency as the handbook requires. The minimum age is 15½, and the visit includes a vision test and a knowledge test at the office.
Behind-the-wheel drive test: a booked appointment, and a roadworthy, registered, insured vehicle with its registration and proof of insurance. The vehicle is checked before the test begins.
Registration or title transfer: the title, a smog certification where required, and proof of insurance. No fee amount is stated here — fee figures for this page are locked-plan gates, and the reader should confirm the current fee schedule on dmv.ca.gov before the visit. New California residents should remember the two deadlines that are never mixed up on this site: vehicle registration within 20 days of establishing residency, and a licence within 10 days.
Getting there by bus: RABA, the Redding Area Bus Authority, is the transit operator in Shasta County, and its central Redding loop routes run through downtown Redding from the Downtown Passenger Terminal — the office is downtown on Civic Center Drive. No retrieved source proves a specific RABA stop at the DMV door, a “DMV” timepoint, or a walking distance from any stop, so this guide prints no bus timetable, no fare, and no route number as a guaranteed DMV stop: check the current route map and schedule at rabaride.com before you travel. Getting there without a car, between offices: RABA and the San Joaquin Joint Powers Authority run an Amtrak Thruway motorcoach, Route 3, between Redding, Red Bluff, and Chico, connecting to Amtrak service to Sacramento and Stockton; fares between the three city pairs range from $5 to $15, per the August 2024 announcement of the service, which began August 22, 2024. Amtrak’s Coast Starlight also serves Redding (station code RDR) and Chico (CIC), and the Redding–Chico train takes about an hour and a half. Trinity Transit runs a Redding line from the RABA Downtown Passenger Terminal west toward Weaverville on Highway 299, which is the one-line option for Weaverville-bound readers; its timetable is not printed here. Driving: the office is downtown on Civic Center Drive in the Civic Center and City Hall area; Interstate 5 passes Redding, Highway 299 runs west to Weaverville and Eureka, and Highway 44 runs east. No Interstate exit number, cross-street, or drive time from any named point is asserted, because none was verified. Parking: parking information is not published by the DMV for this office — no parking claim of any kind is made on this page.
12Why this page matters: the errors the internet makes about the Redding DMV
A Redding reader who trusts the first search result can be sent to a closed office, a non-existent office, or a kiosk that does not exist. This section names the errors so the reader can recognise them, and it names them as errors — none of the claims below is repeated here as fact.
| What other pages claim | Why it is wrong |
|---|---|
| “Walk-ins ended statewide in the pandemic and never returned” | Unverified blanket claim from a content farm. No Redding-specific walk-in policy is published on dmv.ca.gov; the honest statement is that appointments are booked online or by phone and Get in Line is the same-day option. |
| “Appointments typically available within two to four weeks” and a “60-day booking window” | Unverified for Redding. No lead time and no booking window are published for this office; this page prints neither. |
| “California has 41 DMV field offices” / “44 field offices” | The same site prints both numbers on different pages — self-contradictory, and neither is sourced. Neither number appears on this page. |
| “Anderson, California has a DMV office, open Monday through Friday” | Wrong. Anderson has no field office — only two registration partners, Cramer Truck Permit Service and CVPRS. See section 9. |
| A “Mt Shasta DMV” as a nearby alternative | No dmv.ca.gov field-office page for a Mount Shasta office was verified. Do not drive there expecting a DMV counter. |
| A specific permit-test question count and pass mark | A Redding drivers-ed page states a question count and a pass mark for the permit test. Question counts are a locked-plan gate and are never printed as fact on this site. |
| A permit fee figure from a driving school | Third-party fee figure, never repeated here. Fee figures for this page are gated; confirm the current schedule on dmv.ca.gov. |
| FoodMaxx kiosk hours of 5:00 am to 2:00 am daily | From a kiosk aggregator, and it conflicts with the official Redding page: Monday to Sunday 6:00 am to midnight. This page uses the official hours. |
| “60 high-volume offices open 7:00 am Wednesdays” and Saturday openings, applied to Redding | False for Redding. Wednesday opens at 9:00 am, and the office is never open on Saturday. |
| Review counts and star ratings for the Redding office | Visible on third-party place listings and banned from this article by office rule. No review number or star rating is printed on this page. |
The method behind this page is the whole point: the address, the hours, the services, the kiosk, and the partners are all taken from the DMV’s own pages, the nearby offices are each verified on their own official pages, the distances are labelled approximate, and the gaps — parking, motorcycle and commercial testing, wait times, fees, holiday lists beyond Veterans Day — are left visibly blank where nothing was verified. That is why the page carries a verification date at the bottom instead of a publication date at the top, and why a reader who checks the official page will find the same facts there.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are the Redding DMV hours?
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm; Wednesday 9:00 am to 5:00 pm; closed Saturday and Sunday. The office is closed Wednesday, November 11, 2026 for Veterans Day. Hours are taken from the office’s own dated two-week calendar on dmv.ca.gov, read live on November 7, 2026.
Is the Redding DMV open on Saturday?
No. The Redding DMV is closed every Saturday and Sunday. Any page claiming Saturday hours for Redding is out of date or wrong.
Where is the Redding DMV located?
2135 Civic Center Drive, Redding, CA 96001, downtown next to the Civic Center and City Hall area. The address was confirmed on the DMV’s place listing and official partner pages and re-checked visually on the rendered official page on November 7, 2026.
What is the phone number for the Redding DMV?
The DMV’s statewide number is 1-800-777-0133. Field offices do not publish direct local numbers on dmv.ca.gov.
Do I need an appointment at the Redding DMV?
Book an appointment online at dmv.ca.gov or by phone at 1-800-777-0133 for the shortest visit. The DMV also offers a same-day Get in Line option from home. Many transactions can be completed online without a visit at all. No Redding-specific walk-in policy is published, so do not count on walking in for a drive test.
How do I make an appointment at the Redding DMV?
Go to dmv.ca.gov, choose the appointment service, select Redding as the location, and pick a date and time; or call 1-800-777-0133. Booking on dmv.ca.gov is free.
Does the Redding DMV have a kiosk?
No — there is no self-service kiosk inside the Redding field office. The nearest DMV Now kiosk is at FoodMaxx, 1330 Churn Creek Rd, Redding, open daily 6:00 am to midnight, for registration renewal and similar quick transactions.
What services does the Redding DMV offer?
Licensing services (driver’s licences and ID cards, including REAL ID), testing (knowledge and drive tests), title transfers, registration, plates, permits and placards, replacements for lost or stolen items, records, and miscellaneous original documents — the eight service groups on the office’s own dmv.ca.gov page.
What forms of payment does the Redding DMV accept?
Cash, check, credit card, debit card, digital wallet, and money order — the official page’s verbatim list.
What do I need to bring for a REAL ID at the Redding DMV?
Start the application online at REALID.dmv.ca.gov, upload your documents, print the confirmation code, and bring the code and your original documents to the office to finish — a REAL ID requires an office visit to complete. Check the DMV’s REAL ID document checklist for the exact documents.
Can I take my driving test at the Redding DMV?
The Redding office lists “Testing” among its services, which covers the written knowledge test and the behind-the-wheel drive test; book a drive-test appointment through dmv.ca.gov and bring a registered, insured vehicle. This guide does not describe a test route or promise a same-day test, and it asserts no motorcycle or commercial testing at Redding because the official page states none.
What if the Redding DMV is booked or closed — where else can I go?
Red Bluff (675 Monroe St, about 29 miles south) is the nearest office but is open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday only — closed Tuesdays and Thursdays. Weaverville (1511 Main St, about 31 miles west) is open Tuesdays and Thursdays only, with a lunch closure 12:00 – 1:15 pm. Yreka (1848 Fort Jones Rd, about 100 miles north) is open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday only. Chico (107 Parmac Rd #1, about 70 miles south) is full-service, open all weekdays, with a kiosk on site. For registration-only errands, the FoodMaxx kiosk in Redding or a DMV partner — including Registration Express Group, open Saturdays — may be faster. Anderson has no DMV field office, only registration partners.
Sources
- California DMV — Redding field office page (address, hours calendar November 2–14, 2026, services, payments, FoodMaxx kiosk, 7 partners; read live November 7, 2026; address line, partner count, and Veterans Day banner re-checked visually in a live browser the same day): dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/redding/
- California DMV — Red Bluff field office page (hours calendar November 2–6, 2026): dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/red-bluff/
- California DMV — Weaverville field office page (address 1511 Main Street and lunch closure 12:00–1:15 pm, confirmed visually in a live browser November 7, 2026): dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/weaverville/
- California DMV — Yreka field office page (address 1848 Fort Jones Rd; hours calendar November 1–7, 2026, confirmed visually in a live browser November 7, 2026): dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/yreka/
- California DMV — Chico field office page (107 Parmac Rd #1; full-service office with on-site kiosk): dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/chico/
- California DMV — Eureka field office page (2500 6th St; full-service office with on-site kiosk): dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/eureka/
- California DMV — office locator: dmv.ca.gov/portal/locations/
- California DMV — current field office wait times (live per-office waits; linked, never printed as minutes): dmv.ca.gov/portal/current-field-office-wait-times/
- California DMV — make an appointment: dmv.ca.gov/portal/make-an-appointment/
- California DMV — REAL ID application: realid.dmv.ca.gov
- California DMV — Redding place listing (address 2135 Civic Center Dr, operating status Active, phone 1-800-777-0133, coordinates 40.575559, -122.380248): dmv.ca.gov place listing for Redding
- California DMV — CVPRS business-partner page (corroborates the Redding office address and hours): dmv.ca.gov/portal/es/business-partner/cvprs/
- Redding, California — population 93,611 in 2020, county seat of Shasta County, economic and cultural capital of the Shasta Cascade region; Shasta County population 182,155 in 2020: wikipedia.org/wiki/Redding,_California and wikipedia.org/wiki/Shasta_County,_California
- Redding overview — about 110 miles south of the Oregon border on Interstate 5, incorporated 1887: simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redding,_California
- Redding quick facts — county seat 1888: eventsincalifornia.com Redding
- RABA and Amtrak Thruway Route 3, Redding–Red Bluff–Chico (service from August 22, 2024; fares $5–$15): buslinemag.com
- RABA (Redding Area Bus Authority) — downtown Redding routes and schedules: rabaride.com
- Stallion Drivers Ed — Redding drivers-ed page (8 public high schools, 3,230 students in 2025–26 from the California Department of Education directory; 3 DMV-licensed driving schools with licence numbers; knowledge-test timing advice): stalliondriversed.com Redding
- Competitor pages checked for errors (not sources for facts): dmvchangeofaddress.com appointment and locations guides (walk-ins-ended claim, 2–4 week waits, 60-day window, 41 vs 44 field offices, “Anderson DMV office” claim); dmvappointmentcalifornia.com appointment guide (urban-office lead-time generalisations; Shasta–Redding county row); nextdoordriving.com Redding and Shasta County drivers-ed pages (permit-test question count and fee figures, “Mt Shasta DMV”); practicetestgeeks.com California DMV Hours Guide 2026 (7:00 am Wednesday and Saturday openings wrongly applied to Redding); cadmvnowkiosk.com (FoodMaxx kiosk hours 5:00 am–2:00 am, conflicting with the official 6:00 am–midnight); xtreet.com Redding DMV page (mixed appointment anecdotes, never quoted); allredding.com Redding public services guide (review numbers, never printed)
- Research brief: ~/workspace/dmv-research/hidden_files/deep-office-redding.md (9,717 words, November 7, 2026)
Book Before You Drive to Redding
Redding is open five days a week with a Wednesday 9:00 am start, it is the only full-service DMV office in Shasta County, and it has no kiosk inside — so its drive-test and REAL ID appointments are the visits that punish an unprepared arrival most, and its registration renewals belong at the FoodMaxx kiosk or a partner instead. Check the day, check the Wednesday 9:00 am open, remember the Veterans Day closure, book on dmv.ca.gov before you drive, and if your errand is a renewal or a record, use dmv.ca.gov, the FoodMaxx kiosk, or a Redding partner instead of waiting in the counter line.
Book Your Appointment on dmv.ca.gov →Last verified against dmv.ca.gov: November 7, 2026. Statutes, forms, and fees change — confirm current rules and the current fee schedule on dmv.ca.gov before your visit.