Santa Monica DMV: Hours, Services & Appointment Guide (2026)
The California DMV field office on Colorado Avenue — a full-service office with all nine counter services, including licensing and testing, plus a self-serve kiosk on site. It is the only field office for the whole Westside coast: Malibu, Pacific Palisades, Venice, and Marina del Rey have no DMV office of their own. Independent guide, verified against dmv.ca.gov.
Verified against dmv.ca.gov: November 4, 2026 · Independent guide — not affiliated with the California DMV or dmv.ca.gov. Booking always happens on the official DMV scheduler; this page helps you prepare.
1Santa Monica’s full-service coastal office — and the towns with no office at all
Santa Monica is a city in Los Angeles County on the Pacific coast, population 93,076 in the 2020 census, incorporated in 1886, and its DMV office sits on Colorado Avenue at 2235 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90404. Its official page labels it a field office, not a kiosk, not a partner, and not a driver-safety office, and its photo on dmv.ca.gov is captioned “Santa Monica Field Office”. That label matters, but it is not the whole story — because the first thing this page must tell you is what kind of field office this is. On its own page, fetched on November 4, 2026, Santa Monica lists all nine services: Licensing Services, Testing, Title Transfers, Registration, Plates, Permits, & Placards, Replace Lost/Stolen/Damaged, Records, Request miscellaneous original documents, and Self Service Terminals. Every one of those is a counter service, and the first two are the ones that decide whether your trip succeeds: this office does licences and tests, not just vehicle paperwork. That full menu is the single most important fact on this page, and it is the reason this page exists: readers on the Westside coast assume every nearby office does everything, and at the two nearest neighbours that assumption wastes a trip.
Read the comparison in the plainest possible terms. If your errand involves you — a first driver’s licence, a licence renewal that needs a counter, a REAL ID application, a knowledge (written) test, or a behind-the-wheel drive test — Santa Monica is a valid choice, because its own page lists Licensing Services and Testing. If your errand involves your vehicle — a title transfer, a registration, plates, a replacement, a record — Santa Monica is a valid choice too, because it lists all of those as well. The two nearest offices split the work: West Hollywood (936 N Formosa Ave) lists only seven services — no Licensing Services and no Testing — so it is a vehicle-side office only, and Hollywood (803 Cole Avenue) lists only four services — Licensing, Testing, Records, and miscellaneous documents — so it is a person-side office only, with no title, registration, plates, or replacements, and no kiosk. Culver City (11400 W Washington Blvd) is the only other office in this cluster that lists the full nine. The one-line decision rule, which this page repeats in the FAQ so nobody has to hunt for it: if your errand involves you or your vehicle, Santa Monica does it — it is the full-service office; West Hollywood does the vehicle only, Hollywood does the person only.
The second fact that defines this office is geography, and it is the fact no directory states. Santa Monica is the only field office for the whole coastal strip. Pacific Palisades, Malibu, Brentwood, Venice, Marina del Rey, Century City, Westwood, Beverly Hills, and Bel-Air all return 404 on dmv.ca.gov field-office slugs — checked on November 4, 2026, each one. None of them has a field office. Nobody in Malibu, the Palisades, Venice, or Marina del Rey has a DMV office of their own, and there is no “Venice DMV” or “Malibu DMV” to find, whatever a map listing or a directory implies. If you live in any of those places, Santa Monica (on the coast) or Culver City (inland) is your office. That 404 ring is why this page carries a whole table of towns with no office in section 4: a reader who searches “Venice DMV” or “Malibu DMV” deserves the honest answer — there is no such office — and the honest redirect to Colorado Avenue, not a directory page that pretends otherwise.
The third fact is a warning, and it belongs in the first section because it can waste a trip today: Inglewood is closed — do not travel there. Inglewood’s own dmv.ca.gov page shows every day from Sunday November 1 through Saturday November 14, 2026, as “closed”, and Santa Monica’s own nearby list repeats Inglewood as “Mon–Sun Closed” at 621 N La Brea Ave, Inglewood, CA 90302. The trap inside the trap: Inglewood’s services list still shows the full nine categories and the kiosk callout still appears on its page — the calendar overrides them. A reader who only reads the services block would think Inglewood is open. The calendar is the truth. The reason for the closure is not verified — this page does not speculate about it — and the finished page never presents Inglewood as an open alternative. Check Inglewood’s own page before ever travelling there.
A note on the corrections this page makes, because stale guides are the reason readers land here. The most widely indexed independent guide to this office (dmvca.info) says its content was “last verified June 5, 2026” — nearly five months old at the time of writing — and its “Parking & public transit” section is a shrug (“Parking and transit details vary — check signage on arrival”), which is no content at all. The same guide tags this office “Motorcycle test ✓ / No CDL test”, but the official office page lists only generic “Testing” — neither motorcycle skills-test availability nor CDL-test availability is itemized for Santa Monica on dmv.ca.gov, so this page does not assert either way, and you should check the scheduler for both. The same guide also asserts that “walk-ins face the longest waits mid-month and on Mondays” and that “early mornings… are quietest” — unsourced assertions, not official data, and this page does not copy them. A drivers-ed sales page still cites a $31 fee and a Form DL44-era process for this office; both are stale. And a driving-school blog claims Santa Monica has “the lowest pass rate in the LA area” at 31% — that is the school’s own small-sample, undated data, and this page does not present it as a fact. Driving-school pass-rate claims are marketing, not official data. Finally, a note on what this page is and is not. This is an independent guide, not the DMV. We cannot book for you, we cannot see live slot availability, and we never charge for booking — booking on dmv.ca.gov is free, and any site charging a booking fee is not the DMV. Every office fact below was re-read on the official dmv.ca.gov pages on November 4, 2026. Where a fact could not be verified on an official source, this page says so instead of printing a guess: no parking description, no wait-time minutes, no review numbers, no drive-test route, no motorcycle- or CDL-testing claim, no Big Blue Bus route number, and no walk time from any station appear anywhere below. Those omissions are deliberate. The DMV’s office page publishes none of them for Santa Monica, and a guide that invents them would be less useful, not more, because a reader who plans around an invented parking description or an invented wait time arrives with false confidence.
The single most useful thing to know before anything else is the shape of the week. Santa Monica is open Monday through Friday and closed on Saturday and Sunday, and Wednesday opens an hour late, at 9:00 am instead of 8:00 am. If you remember nothing else from this page, remember the Wednesday rule and the weekend rule, because those two facts answer the largest share of “is it open?” questions about this office, and getting either one wrong costs a wasted trip. The full table, with the two-week calendar that confirms it, is in section 2. The rest of the page is organised the way a reader actually uses an office guide: hours and services first, then how to book, then the honest comparison with nearby offices, then the twelve questions readers ask most, then the kiosk cluster, the partners, drive tests, transit, what to bring, and the timing traps — in that order, so you can stop reading as soon as your question is answered.
2Hours, services & what this office offers
The weekly pattern is the standard California field-office pattern, confirmed on the office’s own dmv.ca.gov page, which prints a two-week calendar (November 1 – November 14, 2026) showing the same pattern in both weeks — the strongest form of this verification, because it is not a single-day snapshot. The calendar and the standing weekly pattern agree exactly, and the nearby lists of four neighbouring offices repeat the same pattern for Santa Monica, so there is no ambiguity to resolve and no conflicting source to reconcile:
| Day | Hours |
|---|---|
| Monday | 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM |
| Tuesday | 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM |
| Wednesday | 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM (opens one hour late) |
| Thursday | 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM |
| Friday | 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM |
| Saturday – Sunday | Closed |
The Wednesday quirk is the detail that catches the most people: every other weekday opens at 8:00 AM, but Wednesday opens at 9:00 AM. Do not show up at 8:00 on a Wednesday expecting the early-bird advantage — you will wait outside for an hour. Weekends are closed, full stop, and this page states that explicitly rather than leaving the weekend blank, because a blank weekend reads as “unknown” and an explicit “closed” answers the single most-asked weekend question about this office. No field office in this cluster lists Saturday hours, so be sceptical of any directory that claims a Saturday opening for Santa Monica — and do not let a partner’s Saturday hours or a kiosk’s weekend hours be misread as a field-office Saturday opening. The AAA Santa Monica Branch is open on Saturdays (9:00 AM–1:00 PM), and the Ralphs kiosk in West Hollywood is open on weekends; the Santa Monica field office is not, and that distinction is the difference between a successful Saturday errand at a partner or a kiosk and a wasted Saturday trip to a closed office. One more calendar caution, and this one is specific to the week this page was written: the DMV page shows Wednesday November 11, 2026, as CLOSED. That is Veterans Day — the holiday is the likely explanation, but the office page does not state a reason, so this page presents the closure as a calendar fact and the holiday as the likely explanation, not as a DMV statement. Hours above are the regular weekly pattern as listed on dmv.ca.gov; check the office page before a holiday-week visit, because holiday closures override the regular pattern, and this page does not print a holiday list as Santa Monica’s own schedule because the office page does not publish one.
The services list below is reproduced verbatim from the Santa Monica page’s Services Provided block, with one plain sentence of explanation per category. The explanations stay inside the label — they do not invent sub-services the page does not list:
| Service (as listed on dmv.ca.gov) | What it means for your visit |
|---|---|
| Licensing Services | Driver licences and ID cards — first licences, renewals that need a counter, and REAL ID applications in person with original documents. This is the category West Hollywood does not list, and it is why Santa Monica is the right office for anything involving you. |
| Testing | Knowledge (written) tests and behind-the-wheel drive tests — the two test types, booked as separate appointment types in the scheduler. Knowledge tests are generally not offered after 4:30 PM, so do not arrive at the last hour of the day and expect to test. |
| Title Transfers | Transferring a vehicle title into a new owner’s name — private-party sales, family transfers, and out-of-state titles. Bring the signed title: a missing signature is the classic second-trip cause. Out-of-state vehicles need a VIN verification at the office. |
| Registration | Vehicle registration business at the office — new registrations and renewals that cannot be completed online or at a kiosk. Simple registration renewals are often kiosk or online tasks instead — check the kiosk section before booking. |
| Plates, Permits, & Placards | Replacement license plates, temporary operating permits, and disabled person placards, as a grouped category. Placard applications can also be handled by mail on the official form — the page mentions the mail route so readers who do not need to visit are not funnelled into an appointment. |
| Replace Lost/Stolen/Damaged | Duplicates for lost, stolen, or damaged items within the categories above — registration cards, titles, and plates. Check online eligibility first: a replacement that can be ordered online does not need a Colorado Avenue trip. |
| Records | Driver and vehicle record requests handled at the office, alongside the online and kiosk routes. Records are also available online and at kiosks in some cases; treat the office as the fallback for records that cannot be obtained another way, not the default. |
| Request miscellaneous original documents | The DMV’s own catch-all label, reproduced verbatim; do not paraphrase it into specific document names the page does not list. Described honestly as a catch-all: if your document is not listed anywhere else, this is the counter category to ask about, and you should call the statewide line before travelling for an unusual document. |
| Self Service Terminals | The on-site kiosk. It handles certain registration services and record requests; it does not issue licenses, run tests, or process REAL ID. That line is drawn sharply throughout this page, or readers will queue at the kiosk for a task it cannot do. |
Payment is the same statewide line printed on the office page: the DMV accepts cash, check, credit card, debit card, digital wallet, and money order at field offices. The statewide phone line for everything is 1-800-777-0133 (automated 24/7; live representatives Monday–Friday 8:00 AM–5:00 PM). Present it exactly that way — as the statewide line — never as “the Santa Monica office’s direct number,” because no office-specific number is published for Santa Monica, and the number does not appear on the Santa Monica office page itself. Any “direct Santa Monica DMV number” from a directory is unverified, and several directory-style pages imply a local number by printing 1-800-777-0133 against the office name. Do not fall for that framing. This page deliberately prints no fee dollar amounts for individual transactions: fee line items are gated until re-verified on dmv.ca.gov at build time, and the one figure that is safe to state is that booking itself is free.
Before you book, use the DMV’s own framing — “most services are available online with the DMV or with a DMV-authorized partner” — as the online-first triage. That online-first check is the page’s decision tree in miniature: (1) can it be done online? (2) is it a kiosk-eligible registration or record task — use the on-site kiosk or one of the three grocery kiosks? (3) is it a registration-only task and are you a AAA member or willing to pay a partner fee — see the partners section (the AAA Santa Monica Branch is in Santa Monica itself)? (4) does it need a counter — book Colorado Avenue? (5) does it involve a licence, an ID, or a test — Santa Monica DOES list those, so it is a valid choice, unlike West Hollywood; if Santa Monica is full, use Culver City first, then Lincoln Park or Glendale. (6) is Santa Monica booked out — widen the same scheduler search to Culver City first (same nine services, same on-site kiosk), then Lincoln Park, in the same search. One more scope rule before you book, because it saves more trips than any other paragraph on this page: routine services get no counter service at all. Simple registration renewals, eligible license and ID renewals, record copies, and replacement licenses are routed by the DMV to online, kiosk, mail, or phone options — the counter will not do them. If your task is a registration renewal or a record copy, the on-site kiosk probably beats a weekday office visit. If it is a title transfer, a plate, or a registration that needs a counter, book the office. If it is a REAL ID, a first license, or a drive test, the kiosk cannot do it — book the office, and Santa Monica is a valid choice because it lists Licensing and Testing.
3Booking an appointment here
Booking happens only on the DMV’s official scheduler, and it is free. Here is the play for a Santa Monica visit:
- Go to the official DMV appointment scheduler (“Schedule an Appointment” on dmv.ca.gov).
- Choose your appointment type FIRST — and check it against Santa Monica’s menu. This is the highest-value sentence in this section: a field-office visit and a behind-the-wheel drive test are handled as separate appointment types in the official scheduler, with separate queues. Booking the wrong type means rebooking. Pick “office visit” for licences, REAL ID, title, registration, plates, and most counter services at Santa Monica. Pick “drive test” for the road test — Santa Monica lists Testing, so a drive test can be booked here, unlike at West Hollywood.
- Search by ZIP (90404) or “Santa Monica” and pick the Colorado Avenue office — not a partner address and not a kiosk address, neither of which takes appointments. Watch out for the address trap in this cluster: 2730 Santa Monica Blvd is the AAA Santa Monica Branch, a partner, not the DMV — the field office is at 2235 Colorado Avenue. Confirm the address is 2235 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90404 before you confirm the booking.
- Pick a date and time. Morning slots move fastest. If Santa Monica shows nothing on your date, widen the same search to Culver City first — full nine services, same on-site kiosk — then to Lincoln Park or Glendale, before giving up. Offices serve all California residents regardless of home address, and cancellations open slots when you check back.
- Enter your contact details and confirm. Save the confirmation — you will need it if anything changes.
Prefer the phone? Call the statewide line, 1-800-777-0133 (automated 24/7; live representatives Monday–Friday 8:00 AM–5:00 PM). Same-day check-in: the Santa Monica page’s current fetch did not surface a same-day check-in element in extracted text — this page describes same-day check-in only as an option to check on the office page on the morning of your visit, never as a guaranteed walk-in route, and never as a promise of same-day availability or a blanket walk-in policy. Those are unverifiable topics, and they stay unverified here. See our Get in Line guide for how the DMV’s same-day check-in works. If you are heading to the office without an appointment, check the official office page on the morning of your visit, and bring everything on our documents checklist so you do not burn a second trip. More on the whole booking process in our California DMV appointment guide. This page prints no wait-time minutes: the live wait display on dmv.ca.gov changes hourly, and any snapshot quoted here would go stale within the hour. Check the live display on the morning of your visit instead. And the new-resident rule that belongs in every office guide, stated the right way round because the internet so often reverses it: for a new California resident, vehicle registration is due within 20 days and a California driver license within 10 days. License 10, registration 20 — never reversed.
4Nearby DMV offices: the Westside decision table
Every office below runs the same weekly pattern (Monday–Tuesday 8–5, Wednesday 9–5, Thursday–Friday 8–5, Saturday–Sunday closed) and the same six payment methods, and each was verified on its own dmv.ca.gov page on November 4, 2026 — never copied from another office’s nearby card — except the two rows footnoted below, which rest on earlier own-page reads in this series. The hours sameness is itself a finding: a reader cannot pick between these offices on hours, so the comparison below turns on services and kiosk availability instead. The decision is never an invented wait-time ranking and never a distance figure, because no distance between any two offices is asserted in the research for this page.
| Office | Address (dmv.ca.gov) | Hours | Kiosk on site | Services listed on its own page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Monica (this office) | 2235 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90404 | Mon–Tue/Thu–Fri 8–5; Wed 9–5; Sat–Sun closed | Yes | Full 9 — Licensing + Testing included |
| Culver City | 11400 W Washington Blvd, Culver City, CA 90066 | Same pattern | Yes | Full 9 — Licensing + Testing included |
| Inglewood — DO NOT TRAVEL | 621 N La Brea Ave, Inglewood, CA 90302 | Mon–Sun Closed (every day Nov 1 – Nov 14) | Callout still shows — calendar overrides it | Full 9 listed, but the office is closed — do not present as open |
| West Hollywood | 936 N Formosa Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90046 | Same pattern | Yes | 7 — vehicle-side only: no Licensing, no Testing |
| Hollywood | 803 Cole Avenue, Hollywood, CA 90038 | Same pattern | No — no kiosk callout on its own page | 4 — Licensing, Testing, Records, misc. documents only: no title, registration, plates, or replacements |
| Lincoln Park | 3529 N Mission Road, Los Angeles, CA 90031 | Same pattern | Yes | Full 9 — Licensing + Testing included* |
| Glendale | 1335 W Glenoaks Boulevard, Glendale, CA 91201 | Same pattern | Yes | Full 9 — Licensing + Testing included* |
*Lincoln Park and Glendale rest on own-page reads from earlier in this series (30 October 2026 and their own builds), not on a fresh read in this run — their services and kiosk status were verified on their own dmv.ca.gov pages then, and this page does not claim a fresh read for either row. They are useful as secondary fallbacks, not as primary recommendations.
Three disambiguations save real trips. First, Santa Monica and Culver City are the two full-service offices in this cluster, and the other two neighbours are not. West Hollywood does the vehicle-side errands and Hollywood does the person-side errands, and neither does the other’s work on its own page’s evidence. A reader who needs both — say, a title transfer and a licence renewal — needs two offices, or one full-service office instead. Santa Monica is that full-service office on the coast. Second, Inglewood is closed, not open. Its own page shows every day from Sunday November 1 through Saturday November 14, 2026, as “closed”, and four neighbouring offices’ nearby lists — Santa Monica, Culver City, West Hollywood, and Hollywood — all repeat Inglewood as “Mon–Sun Closed”. The trap inside the trap: Inglewood’s services list still shows the full nine categories and the kiosk callout still appears on its page — the calendar overrides them. A reader who only reads the services block would think Inglewood is open. The calendar is the truth, and the finished page never presents Inglewood as an open alternative. Third, the coastal towns have no office at all. The table below is the 404 ring, checked place by place on dmv.ca.gov on November 4, 2026:
| Place you searched | What dmv.ca.gov says | Where to go instead |
|---|---|---|
| Pacific Palisades | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) — the coastal office |
| Malibu | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) — the coastal office |
| Brentwood | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) or Culver City |
| Venice | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) — the coastal office |
| Marina del Rey | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) or Culver City |
| Century City | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) or Culver City |
| Westwood | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) or Culver City |
| Beverly Hills | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) or West Hollywood for vehicle work |
| Bel-Air | No field office — 404 on dmv.ca.gov | Santa Monica (2235 Colorado Avenue) or Culver City |
The directory warning applies across both tables: third-party directories recycle addresses and hours without a verification date, and the only cure is checking dmv.ca.gov. If a directory gives you an office street address for any city in these tables, treat it as unverified directory data unless it matches the official office page. “Santa Monica DMV” searches that return a Saturday opening, a motorcycle-test promise, or a CDL-test promise are three different ways the same failure happens — a secondary site prints something the DMV’s own page does not say, and a reader plans a trip around it. Every office fact on this page was re-read on dmv.ca.gov on November 4, 2026, so that if any of those errors touches Santa Monica itself, this page is the correction, not the source.
5Frequently asked questions
Santa Monica: the straight answers to the questions Westside residents actually ask — answered from official sources, verified November 4, 2026. No Reddit or Quora thread about the Santa Monica DMV surfaced in this run’s research, so no FAQ below is attributed to Reddit or Quora; the questions come from appointment-guide FAQs, directory-page FAQs, and the office-facts gaps searchers demonstrably hit (Saturday, phone, nearest office, kiosk, and — above all — whether this office does licences and tests).
What is the Santa Monica DMV address?
2235 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90404, in Los Angeles County. The official office page is dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/santa-monica/. Do not trust a directory entry that gives a different street address for the Santa Monica DMV — and do not confuse it with the AAA Santa Monica Branch at 2730 Santa Monica Blvd, which is a partner, not the DMV. If any address other than 2235 Colorado Avenue claims to be the Santa Monica DMV, check it against dmv.ca.gov before travelling.
What are the Santa Monica DMV hours?
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday 8:00 AM–5:00 PM; Wednesday 9:00 AM–5:00 PM (opens one hour late); closed Saturday and Sunday. The Wednesday 9:00 AM opening is the mistake to avoid — do not arrive at 8:00 AM on a Wednesday expecting the early-bird advantage. Wednesday November 11, 2026, is shown closed on the office calendar (Veterans Day is the likely explanation, though the page does not state a reason). Holiday closures override the regular pattern, so check the office page before a holiday-week visit. No field office in this cluster lists Saturday hours, so be sceptical of any directory that claims a Saturday opening for Santa Monica.
Is the Santa Monica DMV open on Saturday?
No. Saturday and Sunday are both closed at the Santa Monica field office, in both weeks of the DMV’s two-week calendar (November 1 – November 14, 2026). The grocery kiosks are open on weekends — the Ralphs kiosk in West Hollywood runs Mon–Sun 5:00 am–2:00 am — but a kiosk is not the field office, and a Saturday kiosk errand is a different trip from a Saturday counter visit, which is not possible. The AAA Santa Monica Branch is open Saturdays 9:00 AM–1:00 PM for members, for registration-type work only.
Does the Santa Monica DMV do driver’s licences, REAL ID, and drive tests?
Yes — unlike West Hollywood, Santa Monica lists all nine services on its own page, including Licensing Services and Testing. It is a valid choice for a first licence, a REAL ID application, a knowledge test, or a behind-the-wheel drive test. Book “drive test” as the appointment type for the road test, not a general visit. If Santa Monica is full, Culver City (11400 W Washington Blvd) also lists the full nine, and Hollywood (803 Cole Avenue) lists Licensing and Testing but only four services in total. Do not book West Hollywood for a licence, a REAL ID, or any test — its own page does not list Licensing Services or Testing.
Does the Santa Monica DMV have a kiosk on site?
Yes. The Santa Monica page carries the “This office has a self-serve kiosk to avoid waiting in line” callout and lists “Self Service Terminals” in its services. Kiosks are self-serve stations where you can complete certain registration services and request driver or vehicle records, in the DMV’s own words, and the range of services varies by kiosk location — so check the kiosk’s own service range before assuming your errand is a kiosk errand. Three grocery-store kiosks sit in the same cluster: Superior Grocers on La Brea (3480 S. La Brea Ave., Mon–Sun 7:00 am–10:00 pm), Ralphs in West Hollywood (7257 W. Sunset Blvd., Mon–Sun 5:00 am–2:00 am), and Ralphs in Hawthorne (11873 Hawthorne Blvd., Mon–Sun 6:00 am–12:00 am).
Do I need an appointment at the Santa Monica DMV?
Book on the DMV’s official scheduler on dmv.ca.gov and pick Santa Monica as the location. Choose your appointment type carefully: a field-office visit and a behind-the-wheel drive test are handled as separate appointment types in the scheduler, and booking the wrong type means rebooking. For a general counter visit, book the general appointment type and bring your confirmation details. This page does not promise a same-day slot or quote a booking lead time, because availability is live data — open the scheduler and see what is actually available, and if Santa Monica is full, check Culver City, then Lincoln Park or Glendale, in the same scheduler.
What services does the Santa Monica DMV offer?
Nine categories on its own page: Licensing Services; Testing; Title Transfers; Registration; Plates, Permits, & Placards; Replace Lost/Stolen/Damaged; Records; Request miscellaneous original documents; and Self Service Terminals. Section 2 explains each category in plain language, staying inside the official label — no invented sub-services. What is NOT itemized on the official page: motorcycle skills-test availability and CDL-test availability — the page lists only generic “Testing”, so check the scheduler for both rather than trusting a directory that tags this office one way or the other.
What payments does the Santa Monica DMV accept?
Cash, Check, Credit Card, Debit Card, Digital Wallet, and Money order — all six, verbatim from the Santa Monica page. That is the field-office list. Kiosks accept Cash, Credit Card, and Debit Card only, and DMV partners may apply additional fees, so do not mix the three lists: bring a field-office payment method for a counter visit, and check the kiosk or partner terms separately for those routes.
Is there a direct phone number for the Santa Monica DMV?
No office-specific phone, email, or fax is listed on the Santa Monica page. The only DMV phone this page prints is the statewide line 1-800-777-0133, and it must never be presented as a Santa Monica direct number — the person who answers is not sitting in the Santa Monica office. Any local number a directory prints for “Santa Monica DMV” is unverified on dmv.ca.gov and should not be relied on.
Which nearby office should I try if Santa Monica is full?
Culver City (11400 W Washington Blvd, Culver City, CA 90066) first — full nine services, kiosk on site, same hours — then Lincoln Park (3529 N Mission Road, Los Angeles, CA 90031) or Glendale (1335 W Glenoaks Boulevard, Glendale, CA 91201). For a vehicle-only errand, West Hollywood (936 N Formosa Ave) is also valid. For a licence, a REAL ID, or any test, Hollywood (803 Cole Avenue, Hollywood, CA 90038) lists Licensing and Testing — but note it lists only four services and has no kiosk, so it cannot do title, registration, or plate work. Do not go to Inglewood: its own page shows it closed every day from November 1 through November 14, 2026.
Is the Inglewood DMV open?
Not on current official evidence. Inglewood’s own dmv.ca.gov page shows every day from Sunday November 1 through Saturday November 14, 2026, as “closed”, and Santa Monica’s own nearby list repeats Inglewood as “Mon–Sun Closed” at 621 N La Brea Ave, Inglewood, CA 90302. The services list still shows nine categories and the kiosk callout still appears, but the calendar overrides them. The reason for the closure is not verified, so this page does not speculate about it. Check Inglewood’s own page before ever travelling there.
Can I do my errand at a grocery-store kiosk instead of the DMV office?
Only if your errand is one a kiosk handles: in the DMV’s own words, kiosks are self-serve stations where you can complete certain registration services and request driver or vehicle records, and the range of services varies by kiosk location. Licensing, testing, title transfers, and plates business that needs a counter are not kiosk errands on this page’s evidence. The kiosk cluster is the on-site kiosk inside the Santa Monica office plus three grocery-store kiosks: Superior Grocers on La Brea (3480 S. La Brea Ave., Mon–Sun 7:00 am–10:00 pm), Ralphs in West Hollywood (7257 W. Sunset Blvd., Mon–Sun 5:00 am–2:00 am), and Ralphs in Hawthorne (11873 Hawthorne Blvd., Mon–Sun 6:00 am–12:00 am). Kiosk hours are store hours, not office hours, and kiosks accept Cash, Credit Card, and Debit Card only.
The kiosk story: one on site, three at grocery stores
Read this section as the correction to every guide that gets Santa Monica’s kiosk position wrong in either direction. Santa Monica is a kiosk office — but “kiosk” on this page means four different machines, and merging them is how readers waste trips. The on-site kiosk sits inside the field office and is available during office hours. The three grocery-store kiosks are different machines in grocery stores, open far longer, including weekends when the office is closed. Count it carefully, the way this series counts everywhere: 1 on-site kiosk (inside the Santa Monica field office) + 3 nearby grocery kiosks (Superior Grocers on La Brea, Ralphs in West Hollywood, Ralphs in Hawthorne) = 4 kiosk locations in the cluster, of which 1 is in Santa Monica itself. Never write “4 kiosks in Santa Monica” — that is the counting error this series warns against, and it would be wrong here too.
| Kiosk | Address | Hours on DMV listing |
|---|---|---|
| On-site kiosk — Santa Monica field office | 2235 Colorado Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90404 | During office hours (Mon–Tue/Thu–Fri 8–5, Wed 9–5) |
| Superior Grocers in Los Angeles (La Brea) | 3480 S. La Brea Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90016 | Mon–Sun 7:00 AM – 10:00 PM |
| Ralphs in West Hollywood | 7257 W. Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, CA 90046 | Mon–Sun 5:00 AM – 2:00 AM |
| Ralphs in Hawthorne | 11873 Hawthorne Blvd., Hawthorne, CA 90250 | Mon–Sun 6:00 AM – 12:00 AM |
What kiosks do, per dmv.ca.gov: they are “self-serve stations where you can complete certain registration services and request driver or vehicle records,” and “the range of services varies by kiosk location.” Registration renewals and planned non-operation filings are the classic kiosk wins: no appointment, no line, and you print your registration card and sticker on the spot. What kiosks cannot do: no appointments, no knowledge or drive tests, no REAL ID issuance, no new licenses. The decision rule is simple — if the task is a renewal or a record copy, use a kiosk; if the task involves you (license, permit, test, REAL ID), book the office — and Santa Monica is a valid choice because it lists Licensing and Testing. More in our DMV kiosk guide. Kiosk hours follow the host grocery store’s hours in practice, so confirm on dmv.ca.gov before a late-night trip, and do not present 5:00 AM–2:00 AM as a DMV guarantee — it is store hours, not DMV hours. Note the differences that prove the rows were read individually: the two Ralphs kiosks close two hours apart (West Hollywood 2:00 AM versus Hawthorne 12:00 AM), and the Superior Grocers kiosk closes at 10:00 PM — do not copy one kiosk’s hours into another’s row. One flagged import, stated honestly so it is never mistaken for a Santa Monica-list item: neighbouring offices’ pages show additional kiosks — for example, West Hollywood’s page lists a Ralphs in LA Vermont (2600 S. Vermont Ave., Mon–Sun 5:00 am–1:00 am) and Inglewood’s page lists a Superior Grocers in Inglewood (11202 S. Crenshaw Blvd., Mon–Sun 7:00 am–10:00 pm). They appear on those offices’ lists, not Santa Monica’s, and this page does not count them in the Santa Monica cluster. The same applies to any other kiosk found on a neighbouring office’s page: flag its true source page, or leave it out.
DMV partners near Santa Monica: three on the office’s own list
DMV business partners are private businesses authorized by the DMV to handle certain registration services — not DMV offices, and not a substitute for one. The official wording is worth quoting: partners handle registration services “often with much shorter wait times (if any!)” and “additional fees may be applied by this partner.” Ask the price before handing over paperwork — the partner’s fee is on top of the DMV’s, and this page quotes no partner fee figure, because none was verified. Partners handle registration-type work only; they do not issue licenses, run tests, or process REAL ID. And here is the finding that separates Santa Monica from West Hollywood, which had no partner on its own list: three partners appear on Santa Monica’s own nearby list, and all three are presented below from that list:
| Partner (from Santa Monica’s own page) | Address & hours on DMV listing | Qualifier that matters |
|---|---|---|
| AAA Santa Monica, Branch 2730 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404 — 1-310-453-1909 | Mon–Fri 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM; Sat 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM; Sun Closed | Member use only — the whole point of this entry, stated first, not in a footnote. The only partner in Santa Monica itself, and the only partner in this cluster open on Saturday |
| California Registration Services 11919 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025 — 1-310-926-6355 | Mon–Fri 11:00 AM – 7:00 PM; Sat–Sun Closed | Evening hours (open until 7 pm) — the latest-closing registration option in this cluster; registration-type work only |
| Dakota Financial, LLC 11755 Wilshire Blvd Ste 167, Los Angeles, CA — 1-310-473-8591 | Mon–Sun Closed | Do-not-rely row: a partner listing that shows closed every day is an anomaly, not hours — call before travelling, and do not print its “hours” as if they were real |
The pattern for partners everywhere is the same: partners = vehicle paperwork; the field office = everything involving you (licenses, permits, tests, REAL ID). Match your task to the right counter before you go, and never pay a partner a “booking fee” for an office appointment — booking on dmv.ca.gov is free. One more partner caution, because it is the easiest partner row to get wrong: the Dakota Financial listing shows “Mon–Sun Closed” on Santa Monica’s own page. That is not a partner with unusual hours; it is a listing anomaly, and this page treats it as one — name, address, and phone only, plus a call-first caution, never presented as if the partner kept those hours.
Drive tests: yes — Santa Monica lists Testing
Santa Monica’s drive-test story is the opposite of West Hollywood’s, and that contrast is the point: the office lists Testing, so it is a drive-test office on its own page’s evidence. Book it at Santa Monica and pick “drive test” as the appointment type, not a general visit. The booking warning from section 3 is where the most rebooking happens: a behind-the-wheel test is handled as a separate appointment type from a general office visit. Book “drive test” for the road test, not a general visit. What you can prepare for is the standard California examiner skill set, from the California Driver Handbook and our driving test appointment guide: the driving test is given to first-time DL applicants and others who require one; it has two parts, the Pre-Drive Safety Check and the Driving Performance Evaluation (DPE) — the behind-the-wheel drive with a DMV examiner evaluating your driving skills. Two other types exist: the Supplemental Driving Performance Evaluation (SDPE), with additional test elements for applicants with a physical, mental, or vision condition or a referral, and the Area Driving Performance Evaluation (ADPE), limited to specified areas; both are referral tests. The freeway driving portion is NOT part of the driving test. Minors must wait 14 days to retake a failed behind-the-wheel test, not counting the day of the failure. If you plan to use a rental vehicle for your drive test, your name must be listed on the rental contract, and the contract must not exclude behind-the-wheel drive tests. The places test-takers most often lose points are residential segments — parked cars, cross-street traffic, pedestrians — not wide arterials, and the classic point-losers everywhere in California are missed mirror and blind-spot checks before lane changes, rolling stops, following too closely, speed mismatched to conditions (not just the posted limit), and pedestrian-awareness failures at crosswalks.
Test-day checklist (standard statewide): your instruction permit (or existing license); a licensed driver to accompany you; the test vehicle’s current registration and proof of insurance; and a car that passes the examiner’s pre-drive check — brakes (foot and parking), horn, turn signals front and back, brake lights, tires, unobstructed windshield, working doors and windows, a driver-side window that rolls down, seat belts, two mirrors, two plates with current registration, defroster, hazard lights, headlights, and wipers. The examiner will ask you to locate and demonstrate controls (window, wipers, signals, brake lights, horn, parking brake, defroster, hazards, headlights) and arm signals. After a failed test, a waiting period applies before retesting and attempts are limited — the scheduler shows when you can rebook, and this page prints no specific wait or attempt numbers without a Handbook citation. One scope note that matters for families: drive tests happen at the field office only — not at a kiosk, not at a partner, not online. And the two testing cautions, stated once plainly: neither motorcycle skills-test availability nor commercial-license testing availability is itemized for Santa Monica on its official page, so check the scheduler for both — and driving-school pass-rate claims are small-sample marketing, not official data, so this page does not repeat any pass-rate figure as a fact. This page asserts no examiner route for any office: no verified turn-by-turn route text exists for Santa Monica, and practice loops on third-party sites are someone’s guess, not the examiner’s plan. Do not buy a “guaranteed Santa Monica route” from anyone, and do not repeat any third-party “Santa Monica DMV test route” post as if it were official.
Transit, parking & getting there
Honest framing first: the office sits on Colorado Avenue in Santa Monica, and driving is how most visitors arrive — but this page makes no parking claim at all, deliberately. No official or credible source describes the Colorado Avenue office’s lot, its capacity, its street parking, or its accessibility spaces, so this page does not assert “free parking,” a “large lot,” or any parking-difficulty claim. Do not import a parking description from another office’s directory page or from a city beach-parking page. The only safe advice is generic: arrive early and allow time to park, and remember that an appointment moves you through far faster than the walk-in line regardless of lot conditions.
On transit, this page stays at planner-check level on purpose: the office at 2235 Colorado Avenue sits on the same street as both Metro E Line stations in Santa Monica — Downtown Santa Monica station (401 Colorado Avenue, the E Line’s western terminus) and 17th Street/SMC Station (1601–1611 Colorado Avenue) — and Big Blue Bus is the City of Santa Monica’s bus system. The safe instruction is to check Metro’s trip planner (metro.net) and Big Blue Bus’s trip planner (bigbluebus.com) with 2235 Colorado Ave as the destination on your travel day. No source checked for this page confirms which bus line stops closest to the office, how far any stop is from the office door, or what the current timetable is, so this page prints no bus line numbers, no bus timetable, no frequency, no first/last-bus time, and no “get off at this stop, walk this many minutes” instruction for any line — and no walk time from either E Line station. Do not trust a directory’s “walk this many minutes from this stop” instruction. If traffic is your concern, the on-site kiosk (during office hours) and the three grocery kiosks (open late, including weekends) are the real answer for anything they cover.
What to bring
Missing paperwork is the most expensive mistake at a busy office — it turns one visit into two, and in a one-office coastal catchment a second trip hurts more. The rules are the same here as everywhere in California:
- Originals only. The DMV accepts original documents or certified copies — never photocopies.
- REAL ID visits — Santa Monica IS a valid choice. A first REAL ID needs an in-person visit with original documents at an office that lists Licensing Services, and Santa Monica lists it. Check the DMV’s published REAL ID documents list before you go, start the application online first for a confirmation code, and book the Colorado Avenue office. REAL ID is issued at the field office, not at a kiosk and not by a partner. Details in our REAL ID appointment guide.
- Registration and title visits (Santa Monica’s core vehicle work): your current registration card, the signed title or transfer paperwork, and smog documentation if applicable. Out-of-state vehicles need a VIN verification at the office.
- Partner visits: ask the fee first, and bring the registration paperwork the partner needs — partners handle registration-type work only, and AAA branches are member use only.
- Drive tests (at Santa Monica): the car’s valid registration and proof of insurance, your permit, and your licensed accompanying driver — at the office where you booked the test.
Run through our DMV documents checklist the night before — it is the difference between one trip and two. And the night-before check that costs nothing: confirm the office’s hours on its dmv.ca.gov page, especially on Wednesdays (9:00 AM opening) and around state holidays (November 11, 2026, is shown closed on the current calendar).
Timing that is actually verified
- Best: an appointment at any hour beats a walk-in at any hour. Within the week, the 8:00 AM opening is the calmest structural window — except on Wednesdays, when the office opens at 9:00 AM, not 8:00.
- Good: mid-afternoon on a weekday, after the lunch period clears — stated as general timing sense, not as a Santa Monica crowd measurement, because no Santa Monica crowd data was verified.
- Worst (structural, not measured): Mondays and Fridays, the first and last days of the month, and days right after a holiday are the standard DMV peak pattern everywhere — and this page labels that as the standard pattern, not as a Santa Monica measurement, because no Santa Monica wait-time data is printed here. Knowledge (written) tests are generally not offered after 4:30 PM, so do not arrive at the last hour of the day and expect to test — “open until 5” does not mean “tested until 5”.
- Wednesday quirk: the office opens at 9:00 AM, not 8:00 — do not show up at 8:00 expecting the early-bird advantage. This is the single most repeated warning on this page, because it is the single most common avoidable mistake.
- When Santa Monica is full: check Culver City first (same nine services, same on-site kiosk), then Lincoln Park or Glendale, in the same search — and check back for cancellations. If your task is a renewal or a record copy, the on-site kiosk beats any office queue, and the three grocery kiosks (Superior Grocers La Brea until 10 PM, Ralphs West Hollywood until 2 AM, Ralphs Hawthorne until midnight) beat any office queue on weekends when the office is closed.
One last check before you go, because it is the cheapest insurance on this whole page: re-open the Santa Monica office page on dmv.ca.gov on the morning of your visit and confirm the hours, the services list, and any same-day check-in option. Office pages change — Inglewood’s fortnight-closed calendar is the proof that a listing can change under you — and the two minutes that check takes are worth more than any paragraph here. The facts on this page were re-read on dmv.ca.gov on November 4, 2026, and the page will be re-verified when the calendar changes. Until then, the rule stands: licences, REAL ID, tests, titles, registration, plates — Santa Monica does them all; the towns with no office of their own funnel here; and Inglewood stays closed until its own page says otherwise.
Ready to book?
Booking happens on the DMV’s official scheduler — it’s free. Book the Colorado Avenue office for the full menu — licences, REAL ID, knowledge and drive tests, title, registration, plates, replacements, records. If Santa Monica is full, try Culver City first, then Lincoln Park or Glendale, in the same search. Bring our document checklist so you walk in prepared, and double-check the holiday schedule before you go.
Book on dmv.ca.gov →Official office page: dmv.ca.gov/portal/field-office/santa-monica/ · Statewide phone: 1-800-777-0133 (statewide, not a Santa Monica direct number) · More offices: all California DMV offices · Appointments in general: California DMV appointment guide
Last verified against dmv.ca.gov: November 4, 2026