INDEPENDENT GUIDE — Not affiliated with the California DMV 1-800-777-0133 Book Appointment
Home
Registration Renewal
Offices Forms About 📞 1-800-777-0133 Book Appointment
INDEPENDENT GUIDE  ·  Not affiliated with the California DMV or dmv.ca.gov  ·  We explain — you book on the official site
Home›Seniors 55+›Mature Driver Discount
California DMV · Seniors 55+

Mature Driver Discount in California: Seniors Auto Insurance Savings (2026)

California law requires every insurer licensed in the state to cut the liability premium of drivers 55 and older who complete a DMV-approved Mature Driver Improvement Course. The law sets no fixed percentage — your insurer sets its own — but the discount lasts three years, the course costs at most $30 in tuition by law, and most drivers have never heard of it. Here is how to qualify, claim it, and keep it.

Verified against dmv.ca.gov
Independent guide
12 FAQs answered
55+
Minimum age — the discount is for principal operators 55 and older who complete the course
3 years
How long the discount lasts from your course completion date
400 min
Minimum instruction in the first course (6 hours 40 minutes)
$30
Maximum tuition a provider may charge by law

TL;DR

  • It is a legal entitlement, not a loyalty perk. California Insurance Code section 11628.3 says every admitted insurer shall reduce the motor vehicle liability premium by “an appropriate percentage” for a principal operator 55 or older who produces proof of completing a DMV-approved Mature Driver Improvement Course (Vehicle Code section 1675). The insurer must offer it to a qualifying driver — but the percentage is its own, set from its own actuarial data.
  • There is no fixed percentage in the law. No 5%, no 10%, no 15% appears in the statute. Course providers and insurance-comparison sites commonly quote 5%–15% off the liability premium — that range is industry practice, not law. The only number that matters is the one your insurer gives you, so ask before you enrol. Any page that prints a fixed percentage “guaranteed by law” is wrong.
  • The course is short and cheap by law. The first course must include at least 400 minutes (6 hours 40 minutes) of instruction; the renewal course at least 240 minutes (4 hours). Tuition is capped by law at $30 (Vehicle Code section 1676). The DMV handbook describes the programme as an eight-hour course and national courses run about eight hours; California-specific courses run the shorter statutory length. Either way, the certificate is the same.
  • The certificate is the proof, and it lasts three years. On completion you receive an official DMV certificate, valid for three years from the completion date. Retake the course every three years to stay eligible; the renewal course is the shorter one if taken within one year of expiry, and after more than a year past expiry you must retake the full initial course.
  • The discount will not find you. You must send the certificate to your insurer yourself — insurers do not monitor course completions and apply the cut unprompted. Check your next renewal declarations page, because the insurer reassesses the percentage at renewal and the reduction may first appear then.
  • You can lose it early, and a court-ordered course earns nothing. The insurer may discontinue the discount if you are at fault in a crash (as the insurer determines), or are convicted of a Division 11 moving violation (except parking) or an alcohol- or narcotics-related traffic offence. A course taken under a court order does not earn the discount at all. And do not confuse this course with traffic school: it dismisses no ticket and removes no points.

Last verified against dmv.ca.gov: October 31, 2026

1. The Law in Plain English: Insurance Code Section 11628.3

California has required this discount for nearly forty years. It is not a new programme, not a 2026 change, and not a promotion any insurer invented. It is a statute, and the statute is short enough to understand in full. It has four subdivisions, and each one answers a question a reader will actually ask.

Who must give the discount, and for what. Insurance Code section 11628.3(a) says: “Based on the actuarial and loss experience data available to each insurer, including the driving records of mature driver improvement course graduates, as recorded by the Department of Motor Vehicles, every admitted insurer shall provide for an appropriate percentage of reduction in premium rates for motor vehicle liability insurance for principal operators who are 55 years of age or older and who produce proof of successful completion of the mature driver improvement course provided for and approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles pursuant to Section 1675 of the Vehicle Code.” Four phrases in that sentence carry the whole programme, so take them one at a time.

“Every admitted insurer shall provide.” The duty falls on insurers admitted — licensed — to do business in California, and the word is shall, not may. An admitted insurer does not get to decide whether to offer the discount to a driver who qualifies. That is the page’s strongest fact, and it is true. But read the next phrase before celebrating.

“An appropriate percentage.” The statute does not fix a number. There is no 5%, no 10%, and no 15% anywhere in section 11628.3. Each insurer sets its own percentage from its own actuarial and loss data. Any page that states a fixed percentage “guaranteed by law” is wrong, and this page will show you in section 8 what the honest answer looks like instead. The discount is a legal entitlement to a percentage, not to a particular number.

“Motor vehicle liability insurance.” The reduction the law requires is on the liability premium — the part of the bill that pays other people when you are at fault. On a liability-only policy the effect is straightforward. On a full-coverage policy, whether the insurer also applies its mature-driver percentage to collision or comprehensive depends on that insurer’s own filing, and no official source states a universal rule. This page says “liability premium” throughout for exactly that reason, and section 8 tells you to ask your insurer which coverages your percentage touches rather than assuming it covers the whole bill.

“Principal operators.” The discount is for the principal — main — operator of the vehicle, aged 55 or older, who completed the course. It is not automatically a household discount. If the 55-and-older driver is only an occasional driver on a policy whose principal operator is younger, the statute as written does not obviously cover them. If your spouse is a principal operator on their own vehicle, they need their own certificate. Ask your insurer how “principal operator” is applied on a multi-driver policy; the statute does not answer that question for you.

How long it lasts. Subdivision (b) requires the driver to enrol in and successfully complete the course once every three years to stay eligible. Subdivision (c) adds that the percentage is reassessed by the insurer at each policy renewal, and that eligibility runs for three years from the date of successful completion — not from the date you hand the certificate to the insurer, and not from your next renewal. Keep your own note of the completion date: that is the date the three-year clock starts.

How you can lose it early. Subdivision (c) also says the insurer may discontinue the reduced rate if you are involved in an accident for which you are at fault, as determined by the insurer; or are convicted of a violation of Division 11 of the Vehicle Code (the Rules of the Road), except Chapter 9 (parking), or of a traffic-related offence involving alcohol or narcotics. Note the careful wording: “may”, not “must”, and fault “as determined by the insurer”, not by a court. The page states it that way on purpose — the insurer can remove the discount, not will.

The court-ordered course earns nothing. Subdivision (d) says the reduction does not apply if you enrol in and complete an approved course under a court order (Vehicle Code section 42005). The same subdivision adds that nothing stops you from also enrolling in a separate voluntary driver improvement course — so a driver who was ordered to take a course can still earn the discount by taking a voluntary mature driver course afterwards. No competitor page in our research explains this distinction; it is one of the genuinely useful facts on this page.

A note on the law — and a correction. Many pages cite the wrong statute for this discount. The discount law is Insurance Code section 11628.3, and the course law is Vehicle Code section 1675 — the DMV’s own Mature Driver Improvement Program page names sections 1675 and 1676 as its licensing authority, and section 11628.3(a) itself cross-refers to “Section 1675 of the Vehicle Code”. Two citations you may see elsewhere are wrong for this topic: Vehicle Code section 1673.2 does not appear anywhere in the mature-driver scheme, and Insurance Code section 1861.02 is the Proposition 103 rating and Good Driver Discount statute — a different discount, covered in section 9. This page cites the right sections throughout, with links to the full text in the sources at the bottom.

The course law. Vehicle Code section 1675 directs the DMV director to set standards for “mature driver improvement courses” for drivers 55 and older. It sets the curriculum (section 3), the minimum instruction time — not less than 400 minutes for the initial course, not less than 240 minutes for the renewal course — and the certificate rule: on satisfactory completion you receive a certificate provided by the department and distributed by the course provider, which is evidence of completion and of eligibility for three years from the completion date for the premium reduction under Insurance Code section 11628.3. The certificate may be renewed by completing a renewal course within one year of the certificate’s expiration; if more than a year has passed since expiry, you must retake the full initial course. The statute was last amended in 2006 (effective January 1, 2007) and the discount law dates to 1986 (operative July 1, 1987). Neither is new. The full text of both statutes is linked in the sources section.

2. Who Qualifies — The Checklist

Every item below traces to the statute or to the DMV/California Department of Insurance guidance. If you can tick all seven, you qualify. If any one fails, the discount does not attach — and the fix is usually simple.

#RequirementWhere it comes from
1Age 55 or older on the date you complete the courseInsurance Code §11628.3(a); Vehicle Code §1675(a)
2Valid California driver’s licenceEvery approved provider requires it; the discount presupposes a licensed principal operator
3Principal operator of the insured vehicleInsurance Code §11628.3(a)
4Course is DMV-approved under Vehicle Code §1675 — not just “defensive driving”, not just any online courseInsurance Code §11628.3(a); DMV Mature Driver Improvement Program page
5Successful completion — enrolling or paying earns nothingInsurance Code §11628.3(b)
6Proof given to the insurer — the DMV completion certificateInsurance Code §11628.3(a); Vehicle Code §1675(d); DMV Handbook §13
7Retake every three years to stay eligibleInsurance Code §11628.3(b)

Who it leaves out — the edge cases, stated honestly. Drivers under 55 have no statutory entitlement, even if an insurer voluntarily offers a defensive-driving discount to younger drivers; that is a company discount, not section 11628.3. Occasional or secondary drivers on a policy fall outside the statute’s “principal operators” wording — ask the insurer. A commercial or CDL course is not a section 1675 mature driver improvement course. A court-ordered completion is excluded by section 11628.3(d). And the statute binds “admitted” insurers — a surplus-lines carrier outside the admitted market is a rare exception for personal auto, but the qualifier belongs in the fine print. Motorcycle policies are a genuine unknown: one blog asserts they are excluded, but no official source was found to confirm it, so this page does not print an exclusion — ask your insurer.

The age-50 trap. Some providers say “drivers 50 or older can take our course”, and the AARP Smart Driver programme is designed for drivers 50 and up. Those are enrolment policies, not the statutory threshold. The California discount still requires 55. If you are 50 to 54, you may take a course for the refresher value, but you will not earn the section 11628.3 discount until you are 55 — and you would need a fresh completion at 55 or later, because eligibility runs three years from the completion date.

3. What the Course Teaches

The curriculum is not a provider’s invention. Vehicle Code section 1675(b) mandates five components, and they are far more specific than the generic “defensive driving” label on provider sites. Here they are, in plain English, with what each one means for a driver who has been on the road for thirty or forty years.

1. How vision and hearing changes affect driving — and how to compensate. Ageing changes what you see and hear behind the wheel: narrower peripheral vision, slower adjustment to glare and darkness, reduced hearing for sirens and horns. The course teaches compensation — wider mirror use, deliberate scanning, better lighting, hearing checks — rather than pretending the changes are not happening. This is also the natural link to our DMV vision test guide: vision is one curriculum topic here, and the full vision-test rules live there.

2. Fatigue, medications, and alcohol — alone and in combination. The statute names the three together for a reason: each impairs driving, and together they compound. The course covers the precautionary measures — timing doses, recognising drowsiness, understanding that a prescribed medicine can impair you just as surely as alcohol. The DMV’s senior guidance lists the reactions that make driving unsafe: sleepiness, blurred vision, slowed reaction and movement, dizziness, fainting, inability to focus, and nausea. If any medication you take causes one of those, that is a conversation to have with your doctor before your next drive, not after it.

3. Updates on the rules of the road and equipment. The “updates” wording matters. The law has changed since most 55-and-older drivers first learned to drive: hands-free rules, move-over rules, roundabouts, bike lanes, pedestrian rules at intersections. The course also covers safety belts and safe, efficient driving under present-day road and traffic conditions. For many readers this is the most practically valuable part of the course — not because they are bad drivers, but because the road they learned on no longer exists.

4. How to plan travel time and select routes for safety and efficiency. Choosing safer times and routes: avoiding rush hour, avoiding night driving where vision is the constraint, avoiding complex intersections, planning rest stops on longer trips. This is the quiet, unglamorous half of safe driving, and the statute lists it as a required component.

5. How to make crucial decisions in dangerous, hazardous, and unforeseen situations. Hazard perception and emergency decision-making: what to do when a tyre blows, when a child runs into the street, when a driver ahead brakes without warning, when weather turns. The course teaches decision-making under pressure, not just rule-following.

The California Department of Insurance describes the same ground in plainer words in its Driving for Seniors booklet: how changes in vision and hearing affect driving; how medicines, alcohol, tiredness, and emotions affect driving and what you can do to prevent or correct the effects; how to drive safely in today’s driving and road conditions; and how to plan your travel time and routes. If a provider’s course outline does not cover these five areas, it is not the section 1675 course — whatever its marketing says.

4. How Long It Takes, What Format, and Whether There Is a Test

Three different numbers circulate for the course length, and all three have a source. This section explains all three rather than picking one, because the discrepancy itself is the question readers actually ask.

FigureSourceWhat it actually is
400 minutes (6h 40m) initial; 240 minutes (4h) renewalVehicle Code §1675(c), (e)(2) — the lawThe statutory minimum instruction time. A course must include “not less than” this much.
“Eight-hour course”DMV California Driver Handbook, §13The DMV’s own rounded description of the programme in the handbook.
8 hours (480 minutes)AARP / AAA national coursesNational providers’ courses run 8 hours because they cover all states; California-specific providers run the 400-minute statutory minimum.

The honest answer to “how long is the course?” The law requires at least 400 minutes — 6 hours 40 minutes — of instruction for the first course, and at least 240 minutes — 4 hours — for the renewal course. The DMV handbook describes the programme as an eight-hour course, and national courses such as AARP’s run about eight hours because they cover every state; California-specific courses run the shorter statutory length. Either way, the certificate is the same — what matters is that the provider is DMV-approved. This page does not state “the course is 8 hours” as the legal requirement, and does not state “the course is 6.5 hours” without noting the handbook’s eight-hour description.

Online or classroom — both count, if the provider is DMV-approved. The statute does not restrict the format; the DMV approves providers, and approved providers offer online, classroom, and (historically) home-study versions. Online courses are self-paced: log in and out, on a phone, tablet, or computer, with the certificate delivered by email or mail. Classroom courses run at fixed dates and times, and the statute’s class-size caps apply to them: no more than 25 students per single day of instruction, or 30 students per two days of instruction (Vehicle Code section 1675(c)). The AARP Smart Driver course — the largest national provider — is offered both online and in the classroom and is designed for drivers 50 and up; the AAA Senior Driver Safety programme is listed by the DMV itself as a resource alongside the AARP course and the mature driver improvement courses. Format is a preference, not a qualification: an online completion from a DMV-approved provider earns the same certificate as a classroom one.

Is there a test? Both answers are true, depending on the provider. The statutes say “successfully complete” — neither section 1675 nor section 11628.3 mentions a test, an exam, or a pass mark, and the DMV handbook does not mention a test for this programme. But individual approved providers differ. One California provider advertises “no tests to pass” and states that because the DMV does not require a test or final exam, neither does it. Another approved provider has a 25-question final exam with unlimited retakes, and only charges after you pass. A third has a final test and mails the certificate after you pass. So this page will not print “there is no test” as a universal fact, and will not print “you must pass a 25-question exam” as one either. Both are provider-specific. If a test worries you, ask the provider before you pay whether there is one, and what happens if you do not pass on the first try.

5. Finding an Approved Provider — and What It Costs

The single most important check in this whole guide is the one in this section: the course must be DMV-approved under Vehicle Code section 1675. A generic defensive-driving course, a traffic-school course, and a workplace driver-safety course are not the same thing, and none of them earns the section 11628.3 discount. Here is how the DMV itself tells you to find an approved provider, and how to verify one before you pay.

How the DMV tells you to find one. The California Department of Insurance’s Driving for Seniors booklet (Form 803, revised May 28, 2025) says: “To find an approved course near you, go to www.dmv.ca.gov and search for ‘mature driver.’ Or call the DMV’s toll-free consumer line at 1-800-777-0133.” The DMV handbook says the same in shorter form: take the course through DMV-approved providers, and visit dmv.ca.gov/seniors for more information, including locations near you. The DMV’s Mature Driver Improvement Program page — the programme’s own page, linked from the button at the top of this guide — carries a “List of Approved Mature Driver Improvement Programs” section with the complete list of approved programmes. Open that page, expand the list, and confirm your provider is on it before you enrol. Do not trust a provider’s own “click here for the DMV list” button as proof; check the DMV page yourself.

The five-point verification checklist. Before you pay any provider, check all five:

  1. The provider names its DMV licence number — for example, numbers in the MDIP or MO series appear on approved providers’ own sites — and you can match it against the DMV’s list.
  2. The provider appears on the DMV’s approved list on the DMV’s own Mature Driver Improvement Program page, or the DMV confirms it when you call 1-800-777-0133.
  3. The certificate is the official DMV certificate, not a provider-branded PDF. Section 1675(d) says the certificate is provided by the department and distributed by the provider.
  4. The price is within the statutory cap — see the fee section below.
  5. The provider states in writing that the course is the California section 1675 mature driver improvement course — not a generic defensive-driving course, not traffic school.

Named examples — not endorsements, not a ranking. The following providers were found on their own sites in October 2026 as DMV-approved California courses; approval status must be re-checked against the DMV list on the day you enrol, and this page recommends none of them over any other. Mature Driver Tune-Up (DMV licence MDIP000069, online, advertises no test); Traffic Safety Institute (MDIP000076, online, 25-question final exam with unlimited retakes); Urban Traffic School (MO362, online); AARP Smart Driver (national programme, online and classroom, designed for 50+); AAA Senior Driver Safety (listed by the DMV as a resource; AAA clubs work with third-party providers). One provider’s licence number was deliberately left out here: DriversEd.com prints two different numbers on different pages of its own site, and this page will not reproduce either until the DMV list settles it. That is exactly the kind of detail a careful reader should check, not copy.

What it costs — the fee cap, and an honest conflict. State law caps what a provider may charge for tuition at $30 (Vehicle Code section 1676(a)), and the provider must issue a receipt for the tuition it collects. The DMV’s own certificate fee is also capped by the same section: the department “shall charge a fee not to exceed three dollars ($3)” for each completion certificate, and the amount of that fee is determined by the department itself; a provider may not charge more than the department’s fee for furnishing a certificate or a duplicate. Several providers and comparison sites quote “$30 plus a $1 certificate fee”. That $1 figure is the providers’ figure, not a statutory amount — the statute sets a $3 ceiling and leaves the actual fee to the department — so this page does not print “$30 plus $1” as the statutory cap. Providers themselves warn that add-ons can push the total above $30: audio read-alongs, a mailed certificate, exam retakes. Ask for the all-in price before you pay. And the red flag is plain: any provider charging materially more than $30 for tuition alone is charging above the statutory tuition cap — the DMV’s oversight of providers covers overcharging, and the DMV consumer line is 1-800-777-0133.

6. Claiming the Discount — Step by Step

The course is the easy half. The claim is where most of the discount is lost — not because insurers refuse, but because nobody ever asks. Work through these eight steps in order.

  1. Ask your insurer FIRST — before you pay for a course. Call your agent or insurer and ask four questions: (a) “What percentage reduction will I get under Insurance Code section 11628.3 if I complete a DMV-approved mature driver improvement course?” (b) “Which coverages does it apply to — liability only, or more?” (c) “Do you need the original certificate, a copy, or an upload — and to whom do I send it?” (d) “When will it appear — at my next renewal, or mid-term?” Every honest provider gives the same advice: find out how much you will save before you take the course. It also protects you from the commonest disappointment — taking the course and then discovering your percentage is small.
  2. Choose a DMV-approved provider using the checklist in section 5. Confirm the course is the section 1675 mature driver improvement course: the initial course if you have never taken one, the renewal course if your last certificate is still valid or expired less than a year ago.
  3. Complete the course — initial course at least 400 minutes, renewal course at least 240 minutes. Keep your own note of the completion date: the three-year clock runs from that date, not from the date you send the certificate in.
  4. Get the official DMV certificate. It is provided by the DMV and distributed by the provider (Vehicle Code section 1675(d)). Delivery varies by provider — email, download, or mail — so ask when you enrol how and when yours will arrive. Keep the original and a copy, and note the completion date printed on it.
  5. Send proof to your insurer — email, upload, mail, or hand it to your agent, as your insurer directs. Keep a record of when and how you sent it, and the name of the person you spoke to. Do not assume the discount appears on its own: insurers do not monitor course completions.
  6. Check your next renewal declarations page. The percentage is “reassessed by the insurer upon renewal” (Insurance Code section 11628.3(c)), so the reduction may first appear at renewal rather than mid-term. If the renewal declarations page does not show it, call and quote section 11628.3. A worked timeline helps: complete the course on January 15, 2027, and your certificate is valid until January 15, 2030; take the renewal course any time before January 15, 2031 (the one-year grace period), and the discount continues without a gap in eligibility.
  7. Diary the expiry date. Set a reminder for two to three months before the certificate expires, so you can take the renewal course in time. Remember the one-year grace rule if you miss it, and that after more than a year past expiry you retake the full initial course.
  8. If the insurer refuses or ignores you. Remind them in writing that section 11628.3(a) says every admitted insurer “shall provide” the reduction to a qualifying principal operator 55 or older with proof. If that fails, complain to the California Department of Insurance — the state agency that regulates insurers and protects insurance consumers. The CDI consumer line is 1-800-927-4357. Note the honest framing: the CDI booklet says “most auto insurance companies will lower your premiums” — the statute makes the duty mandatory, the booklet describes what usually happens in practice. Present both, and do not claim the CDI says something it does not.

7. Renewal, Expiry, and Losing the Discount

The discount runs on a three-year cycle, and the cycle has exactly one grace rule worth memorising. Here is the whole of it in one table.

EventRuleSource
Complete the initial courseAt least 400 minutes of instruction; certificate issued; three-year eligibility starts on the completion dateVehicle Code §1675(c)–(d); Insurance Code §11628.3(c)
Renewal courseAt least 240 minutes; allowed within one year of the certificate’s expiryVehicle Code §1675(e)
Missed the one-year graceRetake the full initial (400-minute) courseVehicle Code §1675(e)(1)
Discount reassessedAt each policy renewal, the insurer reassesses the percentageInsurance Code §11628.3(c)
Early loss (insurer may discontinue)At-fault accident (as the insurer determines); Division 11 moving-violation conviction (except Chapter 9 parking); alcohol- or narcotics-related traffic offenceInsurance Code §11628.3(c)(1)–(2)
Court-ordered courseNo discount for that completionInsurance Code §11628.3(d)

“Within the past four years” is the same rule in providers’ words. Some providers describe their renewal course as available if you “already completed a course within the past four years”. That is the three-year validity plus the one-year grace, expressed as a single window. The statute’s version is the rule: renew within one year of expiry and you may take the short course; let more than a year pass after expiry and you retake the full initial course. A worked timeline: complete the course on January 15, 2027, and the certificate is valid until January 15, 2030. Take the renewal course any time before January 15, 2031, and the discount continues. Wait until after January 15, 2031, and you are back to the full 400-minute course.

What happens if you switch insurers mid-cycle? No official source states a rule for this, and this page will not invent one. The certificate is DMV-issued proof, so in principle it travels with the driver — but whether a new insurer honours the remaining period or reassesses from scratch is insurer-specific. Ask the new insurer before you switch, and keep your certificate. The same honest “ask” applies if you move out of California: section 11628.3 binds California-admitted insurers for California motor vehicle liability insurance, and another state’s law governs there.

Does the course affect your driving record? No verified statement was found that a voluntary mature driver course appears on, or changes, the DMV driving record. Traffic school — the court programme — is the record-masking programme; this course is not. This page claims no point removal and no record benefit from the mature driver course.

8. How Much Can You Save? The Honest Answer

The law does not set the amount. Your insurer does. Section 11628.3(a) requires “an appropriate percentage” based on each insurer’s own actuarial and loss data. That means there is no statutory 5%, no statutory 10%, and no statutory 15%. There is no CDI-published percentage and no DMV-published percentage. Any page that prints a single percentage as “the California mature driver discount” is wrong, and any page that prints a dollar saving as a fact is wrong unless it labels the arithmetic as an illustration. This section gives you the scale honestly, with the framing doing the work.

What secondary sources quote — a labelled range only. Course providers and insurance-comparison sites commonly quote a range of 5% to 15% off the liability premium. That range appears on provider sites and comparison sites, and one comparison site attributes it to the Insurance Information Institute. It is not a legal figure. The only way to know your number is to ask your insurer before you enrol — which is why section 6 puts that phone call first, before you pay for any course.

Insurer-by-insurer percentages are not printed on this page. The only insurer-specific table found in research is a single course provider’s phone-around of agents, explicitly described by that provider as a reference only, with instructions to confirm with your own insurer — undated, and with at least one figure conflicting with other secondary sources. This page omits it deliberately. A table of unverified percentages would add risk without adding verified value.

Worked illustrations — arithmetic only, not a promise. The table below uses round liability premiums and the labelled 5%–15% range. Every figure is an illustration; your insurer sets your percentage.

If your LIABILITY premium is…At 5% (illustration)At 10% (illustration)At 15% (illustration)
$600 / year$30 / yr; $90 over 3 yrs$60 / yr; $180 over 3 yrs$90 / yr; $270 over 3 yrs
$1,000 / year$50 / yr; $150 over 3 yrs$100 / yr; $300 over 3 yrs$150 / yr; $450 over 3 yrs
$1,500 / year$75 / yr; $225 over 3 yrs$150 / yr; $450 over 3 yrs$225 / yr; $675 over 3 yrs

And the pay-back line this page can safely print: a course costs at most $30 in tuition by law (Vehicle Code section 1676), so even the smallest illustration above — $30 a year at 5% on a $600 liability premium — covers the tuition in the first year, if your insurer’s percentage is 5% and if it applies to your liability premium. Ask your insurer for your percentage before you enrol, so you are not guessing.

Why the discount can look small — and why it is still worth claiming. The percentage applies to the liability premium, not the whole bill. On a full-coverage policy the liability portion may be roughly half the total, so a “10% discount” may be around 5% of the total bill. This page explains that plainly because it prevents the “I was promised 10% off and only got $60” complaint — and no competitor page explains it. The discount is also reassessed at renewal (Insurance Code section 11628.3(c)), so it can shrink if the insurer’s data changes. Even so, the course is cheap (a $30 tuition cap), the certificate lasts three years, and the same course refreshes safety knowledge. The value case does not depend on a large percentage. Course providers also cite an AARP figure of about $90 a year in savings — that figure is attributed to AARP by providers and was not verified on an AARP page, so this page quotes it only as an attributed provider claim, never as a current verified average.

9. Stacking: The Other Discounts a 55+ California Driver Should Claim in the Same Call

The mature-driver discount is one of several, and the biggest money is often elsewhere. Every item below is verified; the statutes are kept separate, because confusing them is the single most common error on competitor pages.

The Good Driver Discount — at least 20% — is bigger than the mature-driver discount. Under Insurance Code section 1861.02(b)(2), a Good Driver Discount policy must cost at least 20% below the rate the insured would otherwise have been charged for the same coverage. Qualification (section 1861.025) turns on a clean three-year record: licensed for the previous three consecutive years, no more than one violation point in that period, no at-fault accident causing bodily injury or death, and no DUI or vehicular manslaughter conviction in the previous ten years. A 55-and-older driver with a clean three-year record already qualifies for 20% off — and the mature-driver percentage is a separate discount on top of the rating the insurer applies. Many seniors do not know they already hold the bigger discount. Do not conflate the two: the 20% is Proposition 103 / section 1861.02; the mature-driver percentage is section 11628.3. They are claimed together, not instead of each other. One warning, stated honestly: whether the mature-driver percentage is calculated on the pre- or post-Good-Driver premium — whether they multiply or add — could not be verified on any official source. Ask your insurer how the two are combined on your policy, and do not print a combined percentage such as “20% + 10% = 30% off”.

Low annual mileage is a mandatory rating factor, not a favour. Insurance Code section 1861.02(a) sets the rating order by law: (1) driving safety record, (2) number of miles driven annually, (3) years of driving experience. Retired drivers who drive less must report their actual mileage — it is the second-most-important rating factor by law, not a discretionary discount. If you drive well under the average, tell your insurer your real annual mileage when you make the mature-driver call.

Bundling, multi-car, safety features, and deductibles. The California Department of Insurance’s guidance for seniors is to ask about bundling auto and home cover, multi-vehicle policies, safety features such as airbags and anti-theft devices, higher deductibles, and the other approved rating factors (driver training, persistency, and more). Ask about each one in the same call as the mature-driver discount — the insurer will not volunteer them unprompted, just as it will not volunteer the mature-driver percentage.

California Low Cost Automobile Insurance Program (CLCA) — if the premium is still unaffordable. This is a separate programme with its own income test and its own lower liability limits, not the mature-driver discount. The CDI booklet says it helps income-eligible good drivers get liability insurance for under $650 a year, depending on where they live, for a vehicle valued at $25,000 or less, with a good driving record. More information is at mylowcostauto.com or 1-866-602-8861. A driver on CLCA may or may not also get the mature-driver percentage — that was not verified — so ask. This page mentions CLCA as a pointer for readers whose premium is still unaffordable, not as part of the discount.

Shop around — the percentage differs by insurer. The CDI booklet says it plainly: “Auto insurance can vary a lot. You should always get several quotes… Compare quotes from several companies.” The mature-driver percentage differs by insurer because it is set from each insurer’s own data, so the same certificate can be worth a different amount at different insurers. That is a legitimate, verified reason to shop — and the most useful practical advice on this page after “ask first”. Check that any insurer you consider is licensed at insurance.ca.gov, and check its complaint record in the CDI’s Consumer Complaint Study.

10. The Senior Insurance Context This Page Must Get Right

Minimum liability is now 30/60/15 — and the CDI’s own booklet is stale on this. Current law requires $30,000 bodily injury per person, $60,000 per accident, and $15,000 property damage, for policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2025 (SB 1107; Vehicle Code section 16056). The next rise — to 50/100/25 — comes on January 1, 2035. The trap: the CDI’s own Driving for Seniors booklet — the same booklet that correctly describes the mature-driver discount — still prints the old minimums ($15,000 / $30,000 / $5,000) in its liability section. This page does not copy the booklet’s limits. It prints 30/60/15 and cites the statute. That matters for this page because the mature-driver percentage applies to the liability premium, and liability premiums rose when the minimums doubled. A reader comparing what they paid in 2024 with what they pay now needs the 30/60/15 explanation, or the discount will look as if it “didn’t work”. The full minimums explainer lives on our minimum car insurance in California guide; this page needs only the one paragraph and the link.

Why senior premiums rise even with a clean record. Insurers price on claim costs for similar vehicles, local claim patterns, mileage, coverage choices, and the other drivers on the policy — not only on the individual’s record. The CDI booklet frames it neutrally: drivers over 65, like new teenage drivers, have more accidents per mile than other age groups. That is the insurers’ actuarial rationale, and it is why the course exists. California’s Proposition 103 rule is that rates must be based first on driving record, then on miles, then on years of experience (Insurance Code section 1861.02(a)) — not on age alone. This page states the rationale without endorsing age stereotyping. It prints no single “average California premium” as a fact: published 2026 figures conflict by definition (a provider’s $3,102 a year for full coverage, a comparison site’s $2,000–$2,500 for mature drivers, the CDI premium survey’s $1,686 median for basic liability) — three different definitions, so the illustration table in section 8 does the work instead.

Renewal is a different process — do not mix them. After 70, you can no longer renew a licence by mail; renewal is in person, with a vision test, and a knowledge or drive test in some cases. The mature driver course does not waive any of that. If a knowledge test is required at 70+, the no-fail eLearning option may be available — full detail is on our seniors knowledge test guide. If a doctor, family member, or law officer refers a senior driver, the DMV may require a reexamination — full detail is on our DMV reexamination guide for seniors. The course is a refresher, not a renewal waiver, and this page keeps the two processes in their own lanes. One useful aside: a senior ID card is free at age 62 and over, for readers considering giving up driving.

11. Mistakes to Avoid

Taking a course that is not DMV-approved. A generic defensive-driving course, a workplace safety course, or an out-of-state course does not earn the section 11628.3 discount, however good its content. Check the DMV’s approved list before you pay — section 5 gives the five-point checklist.

Taking a court-ordered course and expecting a discount. A course completed under a court order (Vehicle Code section 42005) does not trigger the reduction (Insurance Code section 11628.3(d)). You can still take a separate voluntary course to earn it — but the court-ordered completion alone earns nothing.

Assuming the discount is automatic. It is not. Age alone earns nothing, and insurers do not monitor course completions. Send the certificate yourself, and check the next renewal declarations page.

Assuming it covers the whole policy. The statute requires the reduction on the liability premium. Whether your insurer also applies it to collision or comprehensive is insurer-specific. Ask, and read the declarations page rather than the marketing.

Letting the certificate lapse more than a year. The renewal course is the short one only if taken within one year of expiry. After that, you retake the full 400-minute initial course. Set a reminder two to three months before expiry.

Paying far above the $30 tuition cap. Tuition is capped by law at $30 (Vehicle Code section 1676). Add-ons can push the total above $30, so ask for the all-in price before you pay — and treat a provider charging materially more than $30 for tuition alone as a red flag to report to the DMV at 1-800-777-0133.

Confusing this course with traffic school. Traffic violator school dismisses a ticket or masks a point; the mature driver course earns an insurance discount. Different programmes, different approvals, different certificates. If you need ticket dismissal, that is a different page on a different process — not this course.

12. Sources

Official sources first. The statute text is linked to the full text as published by Justia and FindLaw — the same text as the official leginfo publication, which blocks automated reads; the official source is the California Legislative Information site (leginfo.legislature.ca.gov), Insurance Code section 11628.3 and Vehicle Code sections 1675–1677.

  • Insurance Code section 11628.3 (the discount law) — full text on Justia
  • Vehicle Code section 1675 (the course law) — full text on Justia
  • Vehicle Code section 1676 (tuition and certificate-fee caps, current to January 1, 2026) — full text on FindLaw
  • Insurance Code section 1861.02 (Proposition 103 rating factors and the 20% Good Driver Discount — a different discount) — full text on FindLaw
  • DMV, California Driver Handbook, Section 13: Seniors and Driving / Mature Driver Program — dmv.ca.gov
  • DMV, Mature Driver Improvement Program (licensing authority: Vehicle Code sections 1675 and 1676; approved-program list) — dmv.ca.gov
  • DMV, Senior Drivers — dmv.ca.gov
  • California Department of Insurance, Driving for Seniors (Form 803, revised May 28, 2025) — insurance.ca.gov

Secondary sources used only for the labelled 5%–15% range, provider examples, and the competitor-error file: Insuranceopedia’s seniors insurance guide; MoneyGeek’s seniors insurance guide; Traffic Safety Institute’s mature driver pages; Mature Driver Tune-Up; DriversEd.com; Urban Traffic School. No insurer-specific percentage from any secondary source is printed on this page.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is the mature driver discount in California?

The law does not fix a percentage. Insurance Code section 11628.3(a) requires “an appropriate percentage” set by each insurer from its own actuarial and loss data. Course providers and insurance-comparison sites commonly quote 5% to 15% off the liability premium — that range is industry practice, not law. Ask your insurer for your percentage before you enrol; that is the only number that matters.

Who qualifies for the mature driver discount in California?

You must be 55 or older, hold a valid California driver’s licence, be the principal operator of the insured vehicle, complete a DMV-approved mature driver improvement course (Vehicle Code section 1675), and give your insurer proof — the official DMV completion certificate. Retake the course every three years to stay eligible. If your spouse is a principal operator on their own vehicle, they need their own certificate.

How long is the mature driver course in California?

By law, at least 400 minutes (6 hours 40 minutes) for the first course and at least 240 minutes (4 hours) for the renewal course (Vehicle Code section 1675). The DMV handbook describes the programme as an eight-hour course, and national courses such as AARP’s run about eight hours because they cover every state; California-specific courses run the shorter statutory length. Either way, the certificate is the same.

Can I take the mature driver course online?

Yes — online and classroom both count, if the provider is DMV-approved. Online courses are self-paced on a phone, tablet, or computer; classroom courses run at fixed dates and times with statutory class-size caps. Check the provider against the DMV’s approved list before you pay.

How do I claim the discount after I finish the course?

Send the official DMV completion certificate to your insurer yourself — by email, upload, mail, or through your agent, as your insurer directs. Keep a copy and a record of when you sent it. Then check your next renewal declarations page: the insurer reassesses the percentage at renewal, so the reduction may first appear then. If it does not, call and quote Insurance Code section 11628.3.

How long does the discount last, and how do I renew it?

Three years from the date you complete the course. Retake the course every three years; the renewal course is the shorter 240-minute one if taken within one year of the certificate’s expiry. If more than a year has passed since expiry, you must retake the full 400-minute initial course.

Does the discount apply automatically when I turn 55?

No. Age alone earns nothing. You must complete a DMV-approved course and give your insurer the certificate. Insurers do not monitor course completions and do not apply the discount unprompted.

Can I lose the discount before the three years are up?

Yes. The insurer may discontinue it if you are at fault in an accident (as the insurer determines), or are convicted of a Division 11 moving violation (except parking, Chapter 9) or an alcohol- or narcotics-related traffic offence (Insurance Code section 11628.3(c)).

Does a court-ordered driving course earn the discount?

No. A course taken under a court order (Vehicle Code section 42005) does not trigger the section 11628.3 reduction. You can still take a separate voluntary mature driver course to earn it.

Does the mature driver course dismiss a ticket or remove points?

No. Ticket dismissal and point masking are traffic violator school — a different programme under a different law. The mature driver course earns an insurance discount; it does not change your driving record.

How much does the mature driver course cost?

State law caps provider tuition at $30 (Vehicle Code section 1676). The DMV’s certificate fee is also capped by the same section (no more than $3; the department sets the actual amount) — several providers quote “$30 plus a $1 certificate fee”, which is the providers’ figure, not a statutory amount. Add-ons such as audio read-alongs or a mailed certificate can push the total above $30, so ask for the all-in price before you pay.

Does the discount apply to my whole policy, or just liability?

The statute requires the reduction on the liability premium only (Insurance Code section 11628.3(a)). Whether your insurer also applies its mature-driver percentage to collision or comprehensive depends on that insurer’s own filing. Ask your insurer which coverages your percentage touches, and read your renewal declarations page rather than the marketing.

Related Guides

Ready to Find Your Course?

Start with the DMV’s own approved-program list — confirm the provider is on it before you pay — then call your insurer and ask what percentage you will get. The course takes an afternoon; the discount lasts three years.

Approved courses on dmv.ca.gov →

Last verified against dmv.ca.gov and insurance.ca.gov: October 31, 2026. Requirements change — confirm current rules with the DMV or the California Department of Insurance before you enrol.