How Much Does a Driver’s License Cost in California?
One number answers most drivers: $46 for a standard Class C license, original or renewal, and $37 to replace a lost or stolen card. But commercial licenses, motorcycle endorsements, retests, and ID cards all have their own fees — and older guides still print prices the DMV raised years ago. Here is the full 2026 cost picture, straight from the DMV’s own fee page.
TL;DR
- A standard Class C license costs $46 — for an original application and for a renewal. That single fee is the answer for most California drivers.
- A lost, stolen, or damaged license costs $37 to replace. Changing the information on your card (new address or name) is the same $37 transaction, not a second fee on top.
- REAL ID costs nothing extra. The DMV’s fee page lists no REAL ID surcharge at all: a REAL ID license costs the same as the standard license for the same transaction. Upgrading mid-cycle costs the $37 replacement fee, because the replacement is the transaction.
- Commercial licenses cost more: $100 for a new Class A or B, $59 to renew, $44 to replace, and $46 per commercial skill retest. Endorsements run $59–$100 each depending on the endorsement.
- Paying by card adds 1.95% online (or at a kiosk or by phone) and 2.1% in an office. Paying from a bank account (eCheck) adds nothing — it is the cheapest way to pay a DMV fee.
- Ignore older guides that still print $41, $38, or $33. Those were the old fees. Every figure on this page was checked against the DMV’s own Licensing Fees page on October 26, 2026, and the stale figures are named in section 11 so you can spot them elsewhere.
1. The Short Answer: Every License Fee, in One Table
California does not have one price for “a driver’s license.” The fee depends on the license class and on the transaction — original, renewal, replacement, or a change to the card. The table below is the whole picture for noncommercial drivers, taken from the California DMV’s Licensing Fees page. Commercial fees follow in section 6, and ID-card fees (which are often confused with license fees) are in section 8.
| License | Original / renewal | Replacement / information change | Driving retest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class C (standard car license) | $46 | $37 | $9 |
| Class M1/M2 (motorcycle) | $46 | $37 | $9 |
| Noncommercial Class A or B | $46 | $37 | See section 7 |
| Commercial Class A or B | $100 original / $59 renewal | $44 replacement / $37 information change | $46 |
| Commercial Class C | $59 | $44 replacement / $37 information change | $46 |
Two reading notes before you go further. First, “adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2)” to an existing Class C is itself a $46 transaction on the DMV page — it is listed on the Class C row, not hidden in a footnote. Second, the DMV page does not list separate “name change” or “address change” fee lines for a driver’s license. It lists one combined line, “Change DL/ID Information,” at the replacement-fee price for your class. If a guide quotes you a separate name-change fee for a California license, it is describing some other state’s system or an old schedule.
All fees on this page are the DMV’s own charges. They do not include driver-education courses, behind-the-wheel training, a commercial medical exam, or any third-party service that prepares your paperwork. Those are private costs that vary by provider, and no honest guide can quote them as DMV fees. Where this page gives a total, it says exactly which DMV fees are in it and which costs are not.
2. What the $46 Application Fee Actually Buys
The most common misunderstanding about the California license fee is treating it as a charge for a plastic card. It is not. It is an application fee, and the application is what carries you from the first visit to the license in your wallet. Understanding what sits inside that $46 explains most of the “extra fee” surprises people report.
For a first-time Class C applicant, the $46 application covers the instruction (learner’s) permit, the knowledge test, and the behind-the-wheel driving test. There is no separate permit fee and no separate knowledge-test fee on the DMV schedule — the permit is issued under the same application, which is why every current guide that itemises a “permit fee” on top of the $46 is double-counting. The application stays valid for 12 months. Within that window you get up to three attempts at each required knowledge test. If the 12 months run out before you finish, you start over: a new application and a new $46.
The application fee is nonrefundable. If you apply and then change your mind, move away, or fail to complete the process in time, the DMV does not return it. That single fact is the reason the “mistakes that cost a second fee” section at the end of this guide exists — most second fees are really second applications.
For a renewal, the $46 works differently because there is no permit stage: it buys the renewed license itself, for a standard five-year term. A Class C license expires on the fifth birthday following the application date. Renewal timing does not change the fee — the DMV fee schedule lists no late-renewal surcharge, and renewing early (within the window your notice allows) costs the same $46 as renewing on time. The cost of waiting is not a DMV surcharge; it is the risk of being cited for driving on an expired license, which is a separate and much more expensive problem. Our renewal guide walks through the online, mail, and in-person routes and who qualifies for each.
The retest rule, stated plainly. The DMV fee page lists a driving retest at $9 for Class C and M1/M2, and a commercial driving or skill retest at $46. A “retest” fee, by definition, applies after a failed test — your first behind-the-wheel test is part of the application. Budget $9 per additional noncommercial driving test and $46 per additional commercial skill test. The fee page does not state a free-retest count, so any guide that promises you a specific number of free retests is inventing a rule the DMV does not print.
3. Class C in Full: Original, Renewal, Replacement, Changes
Class C is the license almost every California driver holds: cars, pickup trucks, and vans for personal use, plus the vehicles the class covers for noncommercial driving. Its fees are the simplest on the schedule, and they are also the ones stale guides get wrong most often.
| Class C transaction | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Original application (first license, including new residents transferring in) | $46 | Covers permit, knowledge tests, and driving test within the 12-month application window |
| Renewal | $46 | Same fee whether you renew online, by mail, or in person (where eligible); no late-renewal surcharge on the schedule |
| Replacement (lost, stolen, or damaged) | $37 | A duplicate of your current license; it does not extend the expiration date |
| Change DL/ID information (address, name, or other information on the card) | $37 | New card issued; this is the transaction used for a mid-cycle REAL ID upgrade |
| Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2) to Class C | $46 | Listed on the Class C row of the DMV page |
| Adding a firefighter endorsement | $37 | Listed on the Class C row of the DMV page |
| Driving (behind-the-wheel) retest | $9 | Per retest after a failed driving test |
Original vs. renewal vs. replacement — do not mix these up, because the DMV does not let you swap them. An original application starts a new license. A renewal extends an existing license for a new five-year term. A replacement gives you a new copy of the license you already hold, with the same expiration date. If your license is both lost and close to expiring, renew instead of replacing: a $37 replacement followed months later by a $46 renewal costs $83 for what a single $46 renewal would have done, plus a second card in the mail. Conversely, if your license is lost and nowhere near expiring, a renewal will not help you — you need the $37 duplicate, and most drivers can order it online through MyDMV without an office visit.
One related distinction: updating your address in the DMV’s record is free; you pay $37 only when a new card is issued showing the changed information. The fee page’s $37 line is for the card (Change DL/ID Information), not for the record update itself.
New residents pay the original fee. Transferring a valid out-of-state license to California is an original California application, not a renewal, so the fee is $46. The written test is not waived for out-of-state transfers (only the driving test may be waived in some cases), which is why our out-of-state written-test guide exists. The $46 covers the same application package as a first-timer’s: the tests the DMV requires of you, within the same 12-month window.
AB 60 licenses cost the same $46. A license issued under Assembly Bill 60 — for applicants who cannot provide proof of federal legal presence — is a Class C license, and the DMV page’s Class C row applies to it. The card is marked “Federal Limits Apply” and cannot be used for federal purposes, but the driving privilege and the fee are the same as any other Class C license. Any guide that quotes a different AB 60 fee is wrong.
4. REAL ID: The Same Fee, Three Timings — and One $45 That Is Not a DMV Fee
REAL ID is the most asked-about cost question in California licensing, and the answer is refreshingly simple: there is no REAL ID surcharge. The DMV’s Licensing Fees page contains no REAL ID fee line anywhere in its driver’s license tables. A REAL ID license costs exactly what the same transaction costs for a standard license. What changes the price is not the REAL ID designation — it is when you get it.
| When you get REAL ID | What you pay | Why |
|---|---|---|
| With a first application | $46 (Class C) | It is an original application; the REAL ID designation adds nothing |
| At renewal | $46 (Class C) | It is a renewal; the cheapest and simplest timing, and the DMV’s own recommendation |
| Mid-cycle (license not expiring, switching a standard license to REAL ID) | $37 (Class C) | The transaction is a replacement / change of information, which is $37 — there is no separate “REAL ID upgrade fee” |
| On an ID card instead of a license | $40 regular / no fee senior 62+ / $11 reduced-fee | Same rule: the card’s own fee, no REAL ID addition |
The practical consequence is a timing strategy worth real money. If your renewal is months away and you want REAL ID now, you will pay $37 for the replacement card and then $46 again at renewal — $83 across the two transactions. If you can wait until renewal, the REAL ID costs $0 extra. The only reason to pay the mid-cycle $37 is urgency: a flight or a federal-facility visit before your renewal window opens. Since May 7, 2025, a standard license marked “Federal Limits Apply” has not been accepted at TSA checkpoints or secure federal facilities, so the urgency is real for frequent flyers — but it is still a choice, not a surcharge.
A first REAL ID requires an in-person visit with the document set: one proof of identity, proof of Social Security number, and two proofs of California residency. You can start the application online, but the office visit is where the originals are verified, the photo is taken, and the thumbprint is scanned. That visit requirement is also why a first REAL ID cannot be completed through a standard online renewal.
The $45 that is not a DMV fee. Some REAL ID guides carry headlines about a “$45 fee if you skip REAL ID.” That $45 is TSA’s ConfirmID charge — an airport identity-verification service for travelers who arrive without acceptable identification. It is a TSA fee, not a California DMV fee, it is not charged by the DMV, and it has nothing to do with the price of a license. If you see $45 quoted as a license cost, the guide has mixed two agencies’ price lists.
5. Motorcycle Licenses (Class M1/M2)
Motorcycle licensing follows the same price structure as Class C, which surprises riders who expect a premium. An M1 license (motorcycles) or M2 license (motor-driven cycles) costs $46 for an original or a renewal and $37 for a replacement or an information change, with a $9 behind-the-wheel retest. Adding a motorcycle license to an existing Class C is also $46 — the DMV page lists it on the Class C row — and adding it to a commercial license is $59, which is the commercial endorsement price (see section 6).
The variable cost for new riders is not the DMV fee at all: it is rider training. Riders under 21 must complete a California Highway Patrol–approved rider training course, and the course price is set by the provider, not the DMV. This guide quotes no training price, because no single official figure exists and provider prices change. Budget the $46 DMV fee as the fixed part and treat training as a separate, shopped-around cost.
6. Commercial Licenses (Class A, B, and C) and Endorsements
Commercial licenses are where the fee schedule branches most, because each endorsement is its own transaction with its own price. The headline figures are simple; the endorsement table is where drivers get surprised.
| Commercial transaction | Class A or B | Class C |
|---|---|---|
| Original | $100 | $59 |
| Renewal | $59 | $59 |
| Replacement (lost or stolen) | $44 | $44 |
| Change DL/ID information / adding a firefighter endorsement | $37 | $37 |
| Commercial driving or skill retest | $46 | $46 |
| Removing an air brake or automatic transmission restriction (requires a driving test) | $100 | — |
| Adding a passenger endorsement | $100 | $59 |
| Adding a tank, doubles/triples, or hazmat endorsement | $59 each group | Tank / hazmat $59 (no doubles/triples line for Class C) |
| Adding a motorcycle license (Class M1/M2) | $59 | $59 |
Read the endorsement rows as per-endorsement prices, not as a bundle. A Class A driver adding both a passenger endorsement ($100) and a hazmat endorsement ($59) pays $159 in endorsement fees on top of the license fee itself — and each endorsement has its own knowledge test and, for hazmat, its own federal background process. A commercial skill retest is $46 per retest, five times the noncommercial $9, which is why a failed commercial skills test stings more than a failed car test. Medical certification and entry-level driver training are also part of the commercial path, and like rider training they are provider-set costs, not DMV fees: this guide does not quote them, because no DMV fee line covers them.
One commercial trap deserves its own sentence: a commercial license cannot be replaced online the way a standard Class C duplicate can. Commercial replacements require an office visit, which means the $44 replacement fee is the smaller part of the cost — the visit itself is the real expense in time. Plan the trip; do not expect a mailed duplicate from an online form.
7. Noncommercial Class A and B — and One Genuine Ambiguity on the DMV Page
Noncommercial Class A and B licenses — for larger recreational vehicles, trailers, and similar noncommercial combinations — cost the same as Class C: $46 for an original or renewal, $37 for a replacement or information change, and $46 for adding a motorcycle license. If you already hold a Class C and step up to a noncommercial Class A or B, you pay the $46 original-application price for the new class.
An ambiguity we will not paper over. The DMV’s Licensing Fees page prints the line “Removing restrictions (requires a driving test)” under both the $46 row and the $37 row for noncommercial Class A and B. The page does not explain, in plain text, which restriction removals cost which amount. This guide therefore does not state a single fee for a noncommercial restriction removal: confirm the amount for your specific restriction before you pay, and treat any guide that quotes one confidently as guessing. Everything else on this page is stated plainly because the DMV page states it plainly; this line is the exception, and we would rather say so than be wrong.
8. Seniors and ID Cards: The Two Most Confused Prices
There is no senior discount on a California driver’s license. The DMV fee page contains no senior row anywhere in its driver’s license tables, and the $46 Class C renewal applies at every age. What is free for seniors is the identification card, not the license — and confusing the two is the single most common senior pricing error on the internet.
| ID card | Original / renewal / replacement / information change |
|---|---|
| Regular ID card | $40 |
| Senior citizen ID card (age 62 or older) | No fee |
| Reduced-fee ID card (qualifying applicants) | $11 |
The reduced-fee $11 card is for applicants who qualify through an approved assistance program (the DL 937 process); the senior card is free at 62 or older for every transaction — original, renewal, replacement, and information change alike. A separate Reduced/No Fee ID Card program page exists on the DMV site for qualifying applicants, but it is a program page, not a fee line: the fee page itself lists only the three rows above. Drivers 70 and older renew under different rules from younger drivers (our senior renewal guide covers the process); the fee, however, stays $46. And a senior who stops driving but still needs identification can hold the free senior ID card instead of paying to renew a license they no longer use — that switch, from a $46 renewal to a no-fee card, is the one genuine senior saving on the DMV schedule.
9. Paying: Methods, Card Surcharges, and the Cheapest Way to Pay
The fee is only part of what leaves your account. The DMV’s payment table adds a service fee to card payments, and the percentage depends on where you pay. The table below is taken from the same Licensing Fees page as the fees themselves.
| Payment method | Online | Office | Kiosk | Phone | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cash | No | Yes | Yes | No | No |
| Bank account (checking / eCheck) | Yes, no fee | Yes, no fee | No | Yes, no fee | Yes, no fee |
| Money order | No | Yes | No | No | Yes |
| Credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover) | Yes, 1.95% | Yes, 2.1% | Yes, 1.95% | Yes, 1.95% | No |
| Debit card (Visa / Mastercard logo) | Yes, 1.95% | Yes, 2.1% | Yes, 1.95% | Yes, 1.95% | No |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | Some transactions, 2.0% | Yes, 2.1% | No | No | No |
The totals below are arithmetic from those published rates, not figures the DMV prints — they are labelled computed so you can check them. A $46 Class C fee paid by card online, at a kiosk, or by phone comes to $46.90; paid by card in an office it comes to $46.97. A $37 replacement paid by card online comes to $37.72, and a $100 commercial original paid by card online comes to $101.95. Paying from a bank account avoids the surcharge entirely in every channel that accepts it, which makes eCheck the cheapest way to pay any DMV license fee. One more optional item you may see on a renewal payment screen: a $2 voluntary contribution to the Donate Life organ and tissue donor registry. It is voluntary, it is not a DMV fee, and skipping it changes nothing about your license.
10. Four Worked Totals (So You Can Budget Exactly)
Each example below lists every DMV fee in the total and names what is not included. Card totals are computed from the published surcharge rates; bank-account totals carry no surcharge.
Example A — First-time adult Class C license, paid from a bank account online: $46. One application fee covers the permit, the knowledge tests, and the driving test within the 12-month window. Not included: driver training (optional for adults), the trip to the field office, or any retest if you fail the driving test (add $9 per retest).
Example B — Class C renewal at a field office, paid by credit card: $46.97 computed. The $46 renewal plus the 2.1% in-office card fee. Paid online from a bank account, the same renewal is $46.00 flat. The $0.97 difference is the entire reason this guide recommends eCheck for renewals.
Example C — Lost license plus a mid-cycle REAL ID upgrade, paid by card online: $37.72 computed. One transaction, not two: the $37 replacement is the upgrade, because the replacement card is what carries the REAL ID designation. There is no additional REAL ID charge on top. If you instead wait for renewal, the same upgrade costs $0 extra — see section 4 for the timing trade-off.
Example D — Commercial Class A original plus a passenger endorsement, paid from a bank account: $200. That is $100 for the original license plus $100 for the passenger endorsement. Not included: a commercial skill retest ($46 if needed), the medical exam, or entry-level driver training, all of which are provider-set costs outside the DMV fee schedule. Adding a hazmat endorsement to the same license would add $59, for a $259 DMV-fee total before any of those outside costs.
11. The Stale-Price Catalog: What Older Guides Still Get Wrong
This section is the reason this page exists. A large share of the pages ranking for California license costs still print fees from older schedules, and the errors are consistent enough to recognise on sight. If a guide shows you any figure in the left column below, its fee table is out of date — check its other claims just as carefully.
| Source still printing it | Stale figure | Current DMV fee |
|---|---|---|
| mydmvappointment.com licensing-fees guide | $41 original / renewal, $8 retest, $33 replacement | $46 / $9 / $37 |
| stayvalid.app renewal guide | $33 renewal (and $33 for duplicate, endorsement, and name change alike) | $46 renewal; $37 duplicate / information change; $46 to add a motorcycle license |
| bestonlinetrafficschool.co renewal guide | $45 renewal, $36 replacement | $46 / $37 |
| eyeandpen.com REAL ID guide | $43 new / $37 renewal for a REAL ID license | $46 for both (and no separate REAL ID fee exists) |
| aceable.com older license guides | $37 license fee; $30 Class C duplicate; $36 commercial duplicate; 2.3% card fee; claims no online duplicate and a low-income/senior license discount | $46; $37; $44; 1.95% online / 2.1% office; online replacement exists; no license discount exists |
| nextdoordriving.com driving-school page | $45, presented as current | $46 |
| Old checklist documents circulating as PDFs | $40 renewal, $30 retest / duplicate-era figures | $46 / $9 / $37 |
Two further confusions are worth naming. First, some guides quote the $37 replacement fee as if it were the renewal fee, or the $46 renewal fee as if it were the replacement fee — the two numbers have swapped places in enough articles that you should always check which transaction a figure is attached to, not just the number. Second, the “$45 REAL ID fee” headline that circulates on checklist sites is TSA’s ConfirmID charge (see section 4), not a DMV price. A guide can be right about the process and still wrong about the price; on fees, only the DMV page counts, and this page re-checks it on every build.
12. Other DMV Charges Around a License (Not the License Fee)
A suspended, revoked, or restricted license brings a different fee schedule into play, and readers who land here from a suspension search should not mistake these for ordinary license fees. All figures below are from the same DMV Licensing Fees page, under its miscellaneous section.
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Copy of a California DL/ID card record | $5 |
| Reissue fee, Admin Per Se (APS), under 21 (zero tolerance) | $100 |
| Reissue fee, Admin Per Se (APS), 21 and older | $125 |
| DUI reissue fee | $55 |
| DUI second-offender: add / remove court restriction | $15 / $20 |
| Financial Responsibility (FR) penalty / FR reissue | $250 / $55 |
| DMV administrative service fee | $15 |
| Dishonored check service fee | $30 |
Two standing cautions apply to everything on this page. Vehicle registration fees are a separate schedule with their own line items and penalties — they are not license fees, and a replacement plate costs $28 — a vehicle transaction, not to be confused with the $37 replacement license — so never carry a plate figure into a license budget (our registration fee calculator covers the vehicle side). And the smog abatement fee amount is deliberately never stated on this site: it is a vehicle-side charge that changes by program, and quoting it here would only add a third schedule to a page about the first.
13. Five Mistakes That Cost a Second Fee
1. Letting the 12-month application window lapse. The most expensive ordinary mistake: an unfinished first-time application expires, and the next application costs another $46. Finish the tests inside the window, or do not start the clock until you are ready.
2. Replacing when you should renew (or the reverse). A $37 duplicate does not extend your license, and a $46 renewal does not replace a lost card on its own. Match the transaction to the problem — section 3 explains the difference — or you will pay for both.
3. Upgrading to REAL ID mid-cycle without checking the calendar. If your renewal is weeks away, the $37 mid-cycle replacement buys you nothing a $0-at-renewal upgrade would not. Urgency is the only good reason to pay it.
4. Paying by card in an office out of habit. The 2.1% office rate is the highest on the DMV table. The same fee paid online from a bank account costs the flat amount with no surcharge at all. On a $100 commercial original, that habit costs $2.10; on every transaction across a fleet or a family, it adds up.
5. Budgeting from a stale guide. A $41 budget for a $46 fee leaves you short at the window, and a $33 budget for a $37 replacement does the same. Check the DMV Licensing Fees page itself before you go — or trust a page that names its verification date, like this one, and re-checks it.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a California driver’s license cost?
A standard Class C license costs $46 for an original application and $46 for a renewal. That is the fee for most California drivers. A replacement for a lost, stolen, or damaged license costs $37, a motorcycle (M1/M2) license costs $46, and a commercial Class A or B license costs $100 new and $59 to renew.
How much does it cost to replace a lost or stolen California driver’s license?
$37 for a duplicate Class C license. A replacement gives you a new copy of your current license with the same expiration date — it is not a renewal. Most drivers can order a standard replacement online through MyDMV; you will need an office visit if you are also getting a first REAL ID, if there is a hold on your record, or if the DMV needs a new photo. Commercial licenses cannot be replaced online.
Does a REAL ID cost extra in California?
No. There is no REAL ID surcharge on the DMV fee schedule: a REAL ID license costs the same as a standard license for the same transaction ($46 for a Class C original or renewal). If you upgrade mid-cycle, when your license is not expiring, you pay the $37 replacement fee, because the replacement card is the transaction that carries the REAL ID designation. A first REAL ID requires an in-person visit with proof of identity, Social Security number, and two proofs of California residency.
How much is a motorcycle license in California?
$46 for an original or renewal M1/M2 license, $37 for a replacement or information change, and $9 per behind-the-wheel retest. Adding a motorcycle license to an existing Class C license is also $46. Rider training for new riders under 21 is a separate, provider-set cost and is not a DMV fee.
How much does a commercial driver’s license (CDL) cost in California?
A commercial Class A or B license costs $100 for an original and $59 for a renewal; a commercial Class C costs $59 for both. Replacements are $44, information changes are $37, and a commercial driving or skill retest is $46. Endorsements are priced per endorsement: $100 for a Class A/B passenger endorsement or an air-brake/automatic-transmission restriction removal, and $59 for tank, doubles/triples, hazmat, and motorcycle additions.
Is there a senior discount on a California driver’s license?
No. There is no senior discount on a driver’s license: a Class C renewal costs $46 at every age. The free card for seniors is the identification card, not the license — a senior citizen ID card (age 62 or older) is free for original, renewal, replacement, and information changes, while a regular ID card costs $40 and a reduced-fee ID card costs $11.
How much does it cost to renew a California driver’s license?
$46 for a standard Class C renewal, whether you renew online, by mail, or in person (where you are eligible). The DMV fee schedule lists no late-renewal surcharge, so renewing late costs the same $46 — but driving on an expired license can still get you cited. Paying by card adds 1.95% online or 2.1% in an office; paying from a bank account adds nothing.
What does the $46 application fee cover?
For a first-time applicant, the $46 covers the instruction (learner’s) permit, the knowledge tests (up to three attempts at each required knowledge test), and the behind-the-wheel driving test, within a 12-month application window. There is no separate permit fee and no separate knowledge-test fee. The fee is nonrefundable, and if the 12 months run out before you finish, you must submit a new application and pay $46 again.
How much is a driving retest in California?
$9 per retest for a noncommercial (Class C or M1/M2) driving test, and $46 per retest for a commercial driving or skill test. Your first behind-the-wheel test is part of the application; the retest fee applies after a failed test. The DMV fee page does not state a free-retest count, so budget the retest fee for each additional attempt.
Can I pay my California DMV license fee by card, and is there a surcharge?
Yes. Credit and debit cards are accepted online, in offices, at kiosks, and by phone, with a 1.95% service fee online, at a kiosk, or by phone, and 2.1% in an office. Apple Pay and Google Pay carry 2.0% online for some transactions and 2.1% in offices. Cash is accepted in offices and at kiosks. Paying from a bank account (checking or eCheck) carries no surcharge in any channel that accepts it, making it the cheapest way to pay.
Is there a fee waiver or low-income discount for a California driver’s license?
No. There is no general fee-waiver program for California driver’s licenses, and no reduced-fee driver’s license for low-income applicants or seniors. Reduced-fee ($11) and no-fee ID card programs exist for qualifying applicants, but those are identification cards, not licenses. Any guide promising a discounted driver’s license for income or age is describing the ID-card programs, not a license fee.
I just moved to California, or I am applying under AB 60 — what do I pay?
$46. A new resident transferring an out-of-state license pays the original-application fee, and an AB 60 license (for applicants without federal legal presence) is a Class C license at the same $46 fee. Note that the written test is not waived for out-of-state transfers, even when the driving test may be waived in some cases.
Sources. California DMV, Licensing Fees page (dmv.ca.gov) — all fee figures, payment methods, and surcharge rates on this page were read from that page on October 26, 2026. California DMV, REAL ID pages — REAL ID process and document requirements. California DMV, Driver’s Licenses pages — application structure and renewal routes. Secondary cross-checks: current fee guides that quote the same figures (PermitSmash 2026 fee guide, LegalClarity current license-fee pages, dmvca.info). Stale figures in section 11 are quoted from the named guides as found on October 26, 2026; if those guides update, this page’s figures still stand on the DMV page, not on them.
Check the DMV Fee Page Before You Pay
Fees change, and stale guides do not. Before your visit, confirm the current figure on the DMV’s own Licensing Fees page — it takes a minute, and it is the only source that matters at the window. Bring the exact fee (or pay from a bank account to skip the card surcharge), and if your license is close to expiring, renew instead of replacing: one $46 transaction beats a $37 replacement followed by a $46 renewal. This guide is general information, not legal advice; the DMV’s current fee page is the final word.
DMV Licensing Fees (Official) →Last verified against dmv.ca.gov: October 26, 2026. All dollar figures on this page were read from the DMV’s Licensing Fees page on that date; card-surcharge totals are arithmetic from the page’s published rates and are labelled computed. Gated figures are omitted, not estimated: no registration fee line-items, no replacement-plate fee, no smog abatement amount, no knowledge-test question counts, and no single statewide fine total appear on this page. If the DMV page differs from this guide, follow the DMV page.