Irene’s Law California: The 2031 DUI Rule Explained
Irene’s Law does not change anything before January 1, 2031. From that date, a driver convicted of an injury DUI with four or more prior DUI convictions in 10 years faces a 72-month DMV suspension — but can apply for a restricted license after 12 months, with a certified ignition interlock device for a mandatory 72 months. Here is the chaptered law, element by element, and every trap in the early coverage.
TL;DR
- Irene’s Law is AB 1687, Chapter 446, Statutes of 2026 — signed September 25, 2026, operative January 1, 2031. It adds Vehicle Code section 13352.7 and nothing else.
- Who it hits: a driver convicted of an injury DUI under Vehicle Code section 23153(a), (b), (d), (e) or (g), where the offense occurred within 10 years of four or more prior qualifying DUI convictions.
- What it does: a 72-month DMV suspension/revocation, no full reinstatement before 72 months, and a restricted license available after 12 months on six statutory conditions.
- The restricted-license price: stay in a DUI program, prove financial responsibility, pay the applicable DMV fees, and agree to keep a functioning, certified ignition interlock device for a mandatory 72 months.
- What it is not: it is not AB 1546 (the 2027 felony ladder), not Braun’s Law (SB 907), not a criminal sentence, and not in force in 2026, 2027, 2028, 2029 or 2030.
- The stale version to ignore: early bill versions said 8 years and 3+ priors. The chaptered law says 72 months and 4+ priors. Any source still quoting 8 years is quoting a dead draft.
Last verified against dmv.ca.gov: October 28, 2026
Read this first: nothing in this guide applies to a case decided before January 1, 2031. If you are facing a DUI case in 2026, the law that governs your license is the law in force today — the current restricted-license roadmap is on DUI Restricted License California, and the 10-day DMV hearing deadline is on APS Hearing California. Irene’s Law matters now for exactly one reason: every conviction you collect from here on could become one of the four priors that trigger it after 2031. This guide is general legal information, not legal advice for your case.
What Irene’s Law Is — The Bill in One Section
Irene’s Law is short. The entire act does two things: Section 1 gives it the name — “This act shall be known, and may be cited, as Irene’s Law” — and Section 2 adds one new section to the Vehicle Code, section 13352.7. There are no other sections, no criminal penalties, no fee schedule and no program created by the bill. That brevity is why the page can quote the operative text almost in full, and why any coverage that describes Irene’s Law as a wide-ranging crackdown is describing the four-bill package, not this bill.
The bill’s author is Assembly Member Tom Lackey. It was approved by the Governor and filed with the Secretary of State on September 25, 2026, as Chapter 446 of the Statutes of 2026, alongside three companion DUI bills signed the same day. The chapter number is your fastest authenticity check: if a source describes “Irene’s Law” without Chapter 446 or without the January 1, 2031 operative date, it is probably working from an earlier draft or from package-level press coverage, and its numbers should not be trusted.
The Legislative Counsel’s digest — the official summary printed with the chaptered text — describes the bill this way: commencing on January 1, 2031, the DMV would be required to revoke the driving privilege of a person convicted of a DUI that proximately causes bodily injury to a person other than the driver, where that person has four or more prior convictions within a 10-year period for DUI-related offenses, and the DMV would be prohibited from reinstating that person’s privileges until 72 months after the revocation, subject to requirements including agreeing to maintain a functioning, certified ignition interlock device for a mandatory term of 72 months. The digest is a summary, not the law. The law itself is section 13352.7, and the next section works through it word by word.
A wording difference you should know about. The digest says “revoke” and “date of revocation.” Operative subdivision (a) of section 13352.7 says the privilege “shall be suspended for 72 months,” while subdivision (c) calls the same period “the revocation period.” This guide therefore writes “72-month suspension/revocation” throughout and does not pretend one word is the whole story. The practical effect is the same either way — no full driving privilege for 72 months — but a reader comparing sources will see both words, and now knows why.
Who Irene’s Law Applies To — The Trigger Test
Section 13352.7 applies only when every element below is present. Miss one element and the section does not apply, however serious the case looks. Read the test as a checklist, in order.
Element 1: the current offense must be an injury DUI under section 23153(a), (b), (d), (e) or (g)
Section 23153 is DUI proximately causing bodily injury to a person other than the driver. The subdivisions listed in section 13352.7(a) are (a), (b), (d), (e) and (g). Subdivision (f) — the drug-only injury-DUI subdivision — is not in the list. That omission matters: a drug-only injury DUI as the current offense does not trigger section 13352.7 on the chaptered text, even with four priors. Likewise, a non-injury DUI under section 23152 as the current offense does not trigger it, however many priors the driver has. The current offense is the anchor of the whole section; everything else is measured against it.
Element 2: four or more separate prior violations that resulted in a conviction
The priors must be four or more separate violations of section 23103 as specified in section 23103.5 (the “wet reckless” — reckless driving pled in place of a DUI), section 23152, section 23153, or any combination of those, that resulted in a conviction. Three points follow. First, a wet reckless counts: the statute expressly includes section 23103-as-specified-in-23103.5 violations, so a driver who pled three DUIs down to wet reckless and then collected a fourth DUI still has four priors on the text. Second, only convictions count — an arrest, a dismissed charge, or a diversion that did not end in conviction is not a prior under this wording. Third, “separate” is doing real work: whether two counts arising from a single incident count as two priors is a record question for the DMV abstract and a lawyer, and this guide does not settle it.
Element 3: the current offense occurred within 10 years of the priors
The 10-year window is measured from the offense, not from the conviction date or the sentencing date. A driver whose four priors all fall within the 10 years before the current offense is inside the window. A driver with four priors on the record but one of them more than 10 years before the current offense has a counting problem: the statute requires that the offense “occurred within 10 years of four or more separate violations,” so a stale prior may not help reach four. Drivers often get this wrong in both directions — assuming old priors never count, or assuming every prior ever collected counts forever. The statute counts a 10-year window, and the DMV record is the document that shows which priors fall inside it.
Element 4: a conviction or finding, and a DMV action
Section 13352.7(a) opens “upon a conviction or finding of a violation” — broader language than “conviction” alone, which in this code family can include juvenile findings. This guide quotes the broader wording and flags it as a reading, not a verified DMV practice, because the DMV’s implementation notices for 2031 have not been written yet. What is certain is the actor: section 13352.7 directs the department — the DMV. The court sentence for the underlying section 23153 conviction (custody, fines, restitution) is a separate track and is not changed by this bill. Confusing the DMV track with the court track is the most common reader error about this law, and the comparison table in the next section keeps them apart.
| Worked example | Trigger met? | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A: Injury DUI in 2032; prior DUI convictions in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030 | Yes | Current offense is section 23153; four priors, all within 10 years |
| B: Injury DUI in 2032; three prior DUI convictions | No | Only three priors — the statute requires four or more |
| C: Non-injury DUI in 2032; five prior DUI convictions | No | Current offense is section 23152, not a listed section 23153 subdivision |
| D: Drug-only injury DUI (section 23153(f)) in 2032; four priors | No, on the chaptered text | Subdivision (f) is not listed in section 13352.7(a) |
| E: Injury DUI in 2032; four priors, but the earliest is 11 years before the offense | Counting question | Only priors within 10 years count toward the four — check the DMV abstract |
| F: Injury DUI in 2028; four priors | No | The section is not operative until January 1, 2031, whatever the priors |
These examples illustrate the statutory test. They are not predictions about any real case, and the counting questions in examples D and E are exactly the questions to take to a lawyer with the DMV record in hand.
What It Changes vs. Current Law — The “Extension,” Explained
The working title for this page calls Irene’s Law a “DUI restricted license extension.” The bill never uses the word “extension,” so the page owes readers a plain explanation of what is being extended, and against what baseline. The answer has two halves: a longer clock, and a restricted-license opening inside that clock.
Today, a repeat injury-DUI driver faces revocation under section 13352 and IID terms under the DMV’s statewide IID framework. The DMV’s own IID table (dmv.ca.gov, statewide IID page) sets the mandatory IID restriction term for an injury conviction under section 23153 or Penal Code section 191.5(b) at 1 year with no priors, 2 years with one prior, 3 years with two priors, 3 years with three or more priors, and 4 years with one or more prior felony convictions. Irene’s Law replaces that scale for its narrow tier with a single 72-month DMV action and a matching 72-month IID agreement — six years instead of a maximum of four, and no full license back before six years. That is the extension: two extra years of IID at the top of the scale, and a fixed six-year action instead of a tiered one.
The counterweight is section 13352.7(c). Without it, a 72-month action would mean 72 months of no driving at all. With it, the driver may apply for a restricted license after 12 months — but only while staying in the DUI program, only with a certified IID installed and verified, and only with financial responsibility proved and fees paid. The restricted license is therefore not “getting your license back early.” It is conditioned, limited driving during years two through six of the action, and the 72-month IID clock keeps running through it. A driver who treats the restricted license as a full license has misunderstood the section.
The program bar is also higher, and it is post-offense only. Full reinstatement requires a full 30-month DUI program — or an 18-month program where no 30-month program is available in the county of residence or employment, or a Penal Code section 8001 program — and section 13352.7(b)(2) and (b)(3) are explicit: no credit for program activities completed before the date of the current violation, and enrollment, participation and completion must all occur after that date. A driver who completed a program for an earlier case starts again. The restricted-license stage needs only the first 12 months of that program, but continued satisfactory participation is a condition of keeping the restriction. Stop participating and the condition fails.
| Today (2026): section 13352 + DMV IID framework | Irene tier (from January 1, 2031): section 13352.7 | |
|---|---|---|
| Who | Repeat injury-DUI drivers generally, by tier | Only section 23153(a)/(b)/(d)/(e)/(g) + 4+ priors in 10 years |
| DMV action | Revocation under section 13352, period varies by tier | 72-month suspension/revocation, single fixed period |
| Full reinstatement | After the section 13352 period + program + financial responsibility + fees | Not before 72 months + full 30-month (or 18-month) program + financial responsibility + fees |
| Restricted license | Under sections 13352/13352.1, IID terms per the DMV table | After 12 months only, on the six section 13352.7(c) conditions |
| IID term (injury DUI) | 1 year (0 priors), 2 years (1 prior), 3 years (2 priors), 3 years (3+ priors), 4 years (prior felony) — DMV table | Mandatory 72 months, agreed as a condition of the restriction |
| Program credit | Program rules per case | Zero credit for pre-violation program activity — section 13352.7(b)(2)–(3) |
| APS credit toward the 12 months | APS rules per case | The 12 months may include credit for suspension served under section 13353.3(c) |
The 72-Month Clock, Step by Step
Read this timeline with the DMV notice for the individual case beside it. The statute sets the framework; the notice states the dates, the fees and the restriction scope for that driver. Where the statute is silent, this guide says so instead of filling the gap.
About fees — deliberately no dollar figures in this section. Section 13352.7 requires payment of “all applicable reinstatement or reissue fees and any restriction fee” but sets no dollar amount. The standard reissue fees printed on other pages of this site belong to other DMV actions and must not be budgeted as the Irene’s Law fee. The DMV notice for the case states the amount. Likewise, no IID device price is printed here: there is no official IID device price, and provider price ranges from another guide are not section 13352.7 facts.
The Four-Bill Package — Which Bill Does What
Most of the confusion about Irene’s Law comes from package-level coverage. Four DUI bills were signed on September 25, 2026. They do four different things, on two different operative dates. Memorize this table and most bad articles about the package become easy to spot.
| Bill | Name | Chapter | Operative | What it actually does |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SB 907 | Braun’s Law | Ch. 443 | January 1, 2027 | Watson advisement on plea-downs (new section 23635(d)) + tougher hit-and-run tiers (section 20001) |
| AB 1546 | — (no short title in the text) | Ch. 444 | January 1, 2027 | Felony ladder: 3rd DUI in 10 years becomes a wobbler; DUI with 4+ priors becomes a straight felony (sections 23546/23550). The chaptered text contains NO IID provision. |
| AB 1685 | — (no short title in the text) | Ch. 445 | January 1, 2031 | Gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated with gross negligence goes from 2 to 3 DMV points (new section 12810(d)(3)) + 10-year abstract disclosure |
| AB 1687 | Irene’s Law | Ch. 446 | January 1, 2031 | New section 13352.7: 72-month DMV action + 12-month restricted opening + 72-month IID for injury DUI with 4+ priors |
Why two bills wait until 2031
The 2031 operative dates are chaptered fact — section 13352.7(d) and the equivalent provision in AB 1685 state them expressly. The reason for the wait is reported, not chaptered, and this guide attributes it: Governor Newsom’s signing message directed the Legislature to pass interim legislation requiring the DMV to adopt a centralized system for tracking DUI convictions, on the stated ground that the state lacks the technology to enforce AB 1685 and AB 1687 under the current system (summaries of the September 25, 2026 signing in Streetsblog California and Santa Monica Next, read October 28, 2026; the governor’s release is also carried in the Braun’s Law brief). CalMatters reporting on DMV tracking gaps is the background context for that message, also attributed. What readers should take from this is practical: the 2031 date is not a typo and not a delay tactic by the DMV — it is in the statute, and interim tracking legislation is the thing to watch in 2027.
One related trap: AB 1546’s chaptered text also contains conditional repeal-and-replace sections dated 2031, double-jointed to AB 1830 — a bill that was never enacted. Those sections never operate. They do not change AB 1546’s 2027 felony ladder, and they have nothing to do with Irene’s Law. A source that cites “AB 1546 operative 2031” without that qualification is describing dead machinery.
The Stale-Version Trap — 8 Years and 3 Priors Are Wrong
This is the single most valuable correction on the page, and it deserves its own section, because the wrong numbers are still in circulation a month after chaptering.
As introduced and in committee, AB 1687 looked very different. The Assembly Public Safety committee analysis (hearing March 24, 2026) described a bill that would authorize the DMV to revoke a license for eight years for a person convicted of three or more specified impaired-driving offenses within 10 years, with a much broader trigger list that included gross vehicular manslaughter, vessel offenses and several tiered combinations. That version did not survive. The chaptered law, signed September 25, 2026, is 72 months — six years, not eight — and four or more priors, not three, with the trigger narrowed to a section 23153(a), (b), (d), (e) or (g) current offense.
| Early version (committee, March 2026) | Chaptered law (September 2026, Ch. 446) | |
|---|---|---|
| DMV action length | 8 years | 72 months (6 years) |
| Priors required | 3 or more | 4 or more separate violations resulting in conviction |
| Trigger | Broad list incl. manslaughter and vessel offenses | Current offense: section 23153(a)/(b)/(d)/(e)/(g) only |
| Restricted opening | Not in the early summary in this form | After 12 months, six section 13352.7(c) conditions |
| IID term | Varied by tier in early summaries | Mandatory 72 months, agreed as a restriction condition |
Package-level signing coverage made the confusion worse. The September 2026 package story carried by Streetsblog California and Santa Monica Next summarized the package as “third offense loses license for eight years, four or more priors face felony charges.” Neither half of that sentence describes chaptered AB 1687: the felony charge for four or more priors is AB 1546, and the eight-year license figure is the dead Irene’s Law draft. The sentence is understandable as shorthand for a four-bill package — and useless as a statement about any single bill. This guide unpacks it bill by bill so readers can see exactly where each number belongs.
The two fastest authenticity checks for any Irene’s Law source: (1) does it cite Chapter 446? (2) does it give the operative date as January 1, 2031, with 72 months and 4+ priors? A source that fails either check is working from a draft, a press release, or a package summary — read its numbers as leads, not as law.
What Irene’s Law Does NOT Change
- Nothing before January 1, 2031. A 2026–2030 injury-DUI case is judged under the law in force at that time. Irene’s Law is not a defense, not a mitigation, and not a penalty for any case decided before 2031.
- Not the criminal sentence. Custody, base fines and restitution for the underlying section 23153 conviction are set by the court under other sections. Section 13352.7 is a DMV-privilege section only.
- Not first- or second-offense rules. APS hearing rights (10 calendar days to request a hearing), SR-22 requirements and DUI school tiers for other cases are untouched by this bill.
- Not the IID program’s sunset. The statewide IID program’s extension through 2033 (AB 366) is a different statute with a different date. Do not merge the two dates.
- Not plea bargaining, not Braun’s Law, not AB 1546. The Watson advisement on plea-downs is SB 907; the felony ladder is AB 1546. Each bill is a separate tool, and this page does not borrow their provisions.
- Not a guaranteed restricted license at month 12. The statute says the driver “may apply” if all six conditions are met. Application is not entitlement, and the DMV decides on the record.
- Not a defined driving scope. Section 13352.7’s own text does not state where or when the restricted license holder may drive. Do not print “work and DUI program only” as a section 13352.7 rule — that scope, where it applies, comes from other restricted-license sections and from the DMV notice for the individual case.
| Myth | What the chaptered law actually says |
|---|---|
| “Irene’s Law takes your license for 8 years” | 72 months (6 years), Chapter 446 — 8 years was a pre-chaptering draft |
| “Three DUIs and Irene’s Law applies” | Four or more priors, plus a listed injury-DUI current offense |
| “Irene’s Law is already in force” | Operative January 1, 2031 — section 13352.7(d) |
| “It’s the same law as AB 1546” | AB 1546 (Ch. 444, 2027) is the felony ladder; AB 1687 (Ch. 446, 2031) is the DMV action |
| “You can’t drive at all for 6 years” | A restricted license may be sought after 12 months, on six conditions, with a 72-month IID |
| “The IID only has to stay on for the restriction” | The agreement is for a mandatory term of 72 months — section 13352.7(c)(4) |
| “An old DUI program counts toward reinstatement” | No credit for program activity before the current violation — section 13352.7(b)(2)–(3) |
| “Irene’s Law changes your jail time” | It changes only the DMV privilege; the court sentence is separate |
Who Was “Irene”? — What We Could Not Verify
The bill text names the act “Irene’s Law” and gives no biography. No official source checked for this guide — the chaptered text, the Legislative Counsel’s digest, the committee analyses, the governor’s signing coverage, or the companion Braun’s Law research — identifies a namesake, a victim narrative, or a family advocacy story for AB 1687. One attributed exception: September 2026 package coverage (Streetsblog California, syndicated to Santa Monica Next) describes Irene as a 12-year-old girl killed by a repeat drunk driver — but no surname, date, place, crash detail, family statement, or author statement confirming that account was found in any source checked, including the committee analyses, so this guide prints the attributed line and nothing more. This guide states that gap plainly instead of filling it: we do not know, from verified sources, who Irene was, and we will not invent a story for the name. That restraint is deliberate. A namesake story attached to a bill name without a source is exactly the kind of plausible-sounding detail that spreads through coverage and then has to be corrected. If a verified account emerges — from the author’s office, the governor’s office, or reputable reporting that names its source — it belongs here as a short, sourced paragraph. Until then, the name is the name, and the law is the law.
The contrast with Braun’s Law is instructive and worth one sentence: SB 907’s namesake, Braun Levi, is documented in a Senate press release and in USTA Southern California coverage. Irene’s Law has no equivalent verified account in the sources checked. The two bills are not symmetrical in their public record, and this guide does not pretend otherwise.
What to Do Now (2026–2030)
Irene’s Law gives a driver in 2026 no new right and no new penalty. What it gives is a counting warning, and the practical steps below follow from that warning — all framed as general information, not legal advice.
If you are facing an injury-DUI case today
Current law applies. Protect the APS hearing window — 10 calendar days from receipt of the suspension or revocation order to request a hearing (see APS Hearing California). Talk to a California DUI defense lawyer before pleading: a plea today becomes a prior tomorrow, and the plea-down advisement rules under Braun’s Law (from 2027) change what warnings attach to a plea. Expect the current section 13352 / IID framework for license recovery (see DUI Restricted License California), not the Irene’s Law timeline.
If you already have multiple priors
Every new conviction from now on is a prior that could count toward a future section 13352.7 trigger if a post-2031 injury DUI occurs. This guide states that as a counting warning, not as a prediction about retroactivity: whether pre-2031 convictions count as section 13352.7 priors for a post-2031 offense is not stated in the chaptered text, and it is flagged as an open question for a lawyer and for future DMV guidance. Do not let anyone sell you a certain answer to that question today — the statute does not give one.
If you are researching for a 2031 case
Watch two things: the interim tracking-system legislation the governor’s signing message called for, and the DMV’s section 13352.7 implementation notices. Both should exist well before January 1, 2031, and both could change the practical application of the section without changing its text. This page’s “Last verified” line dates the research; the 2031 provisions should be re-verified in late 2030 before anyone relies on them for a real case.
Mistakes to avoid, in one list
- Quoting the 8-year / 3-prior draft as law. Check Chapter 446 and the operative date first.
- Applying Irene’s Law to a 2026–2030 case. It is not operative until 2031.
- Counting a dismissed charge or an arrest as a prior. The statute requires violations that resulted in a conviction.
- Assuming a drug-only injury DUI triggers it. Section 23153(f) is not listed in section 13352.7(a).
- Assuming the month-12 restricted license is automatic. It is an application on six conditions.
- Budgeting from another page’s fee. Section 13352.7 sets no dollar figure; read the DMV notice.
- Counting an old DUI program toward reinstatement. Pre-violation program activity earns no credit.
- Mixing the DMV action with the court sentence. Irene’s Law changes the privilege, not the criminal penalty.
Is Irene’s Law in effect now?
No. Irene’s Law (AB 1687, Chapter 446) was signed on September 25, 2026, but section 13352.7 becomes operative on January 1, 2031. Nothing in the law changes any license action, restricted license, or IID term before that date. A case decided in 2026, 2027, 2028, 2029 or 2030 is governed by the law in force at that time.
Who does Irene’s Law apply to?
A driver convicted of an injury DUI under Vehicle Code section 23153(a), (b), (d), (e) or (g) — DUI proximately causing bodily injury to someone other than the driver — where the offense occurred within 10 years of four or more separate prior DUI-related violations (section 23103 as specified in 23103.5, section 23152, or section 23153, or any combination) that resulted in a conviction. All elements must be present.
Does it apply to a first DUI, or to a DUI where nobody was hurt?
No to both. A first offense has no priors to count, and a non-injury DUI under section 23152 as the current offense does not trigger section 13352.7, however many priors the driver has. The current offense must be a listed injury-DUI subdivision.
What counts as one of the four priors?
A separate violation of section 23103 as specified in section 23103.5 (wet reckless), section 23152, or section 23153, or any combination of those, that resulted in a conviction, within 10 years of the current offense. Dismissals and arrests without conviction do not count. Whether two counts from one incident count as two priors is a record question for the DMV abstract and a lawyer.
Does a drug-only DUI count toward Irene’s Law?
As the current offense, no — on the chaptered text, section 23153(f), the drug-only injury-DUI subdivision, is not listed in section 13352.7(a). As a prior, a section 23153 conviction is within the prior list, which covers section 23153 generally. The distinction is in the statute’s own wording: the current-offense list is subdivision-specific, the prior list is not.
Can I drive at all during the 72 months?
Not in the first 12 months (subject only to the section 13353.3(c) APS credit toward that 12-month period). After 12 months, you may apply for a restricted license if you meet all six section 13352.7(c) conditions. Until a restricted license is actually issued, you may not drive — and after it is issued, you may drive only under its conditions, with a functioning, certified IID.
When can I apply for a restricted license, and what do I need?
After 12 months of the action period (which may include credit for suspension served under section 13353.3(c)), if you: (1) show the initial 12 months of your DUI program, completed after the current violation date; (2) agree to continue satisfactory participation; (3) file the Verification of Installation form (section 13386(g)(2)); (4) agree to maintain a functioning, certified IID for 72 months; (5) prove financial responsibility (section 16430); and (6) pay all applicable reinstatement, reissue and restriction fees. The DMV notice states the fee amounts — section 13352.7 sets no dollar figure.
How long does the ignition interlock device have to stay on?
A mandatory term of 72 months, agreed as a condition of the restricted license (section 13352.7(c)(4)). That is longer than any current IID term on the DMV’s table for injury DUI (1 to 4 years by prior count), and it is the core of the “extension” in this page’s title. Do not assume the IID term and the action period end on the same day if the restriction started late — confirm the end date on your DMV record.
What DUI program do I have to complete, and does an old program count?
For full reinstatement: a 30-month DUI program in your county of residence or employment, or an 18-month program where no 30-month program is available there, or a Penal Code section 8001 program. An old program does not count — section 13352.7(b)(2)–(3) gives no credit for program activity completed before the current violation date, and enrollment, participation and completion must all occur after that date. For the month-12 restricted license, only the initial 12 months of that program are required, with continued participation as a condition.
Does Irene’s Law change the jail time or fines for the DUI itself?
No. Section 13352.7 is a DMV-privilege section. It does not amend the criminal penalties for section 23153, which are set by the court under other sections. It also sets no fine amount. Anyone quoting a jail term or a fine figure “under Irene’s Law” is describing the underlying conviction’s sentence, not this bill.
Is Irene’s Law the same as Braun’s Law or AB 1546?
No. Braun’s Law (SB 907, Chapter 443, operative 2027) adds the Watson advisement on plea-downs and tougher hit-and-run tiers. AB 1546 (Chapter 444, operative 2027) rewrites the felony ladder — third DUI becomes a wobbler, DUI with four or more priors becomes a straight felony — and its chaptered text contains no IID provision. Irene’s Law (AB 1687, Chapter 446, operative 2031) is the DMV action: 72 months, a 12-month restricted opening, and a 72-month IID. Three bills, three jobs, two operative dates.
Do convictions from before 2031 count as priors once the law starts?
Not settled by the chaptered text, and this guide does not pretend otherwise. Section 13352.7 requires a current offense within 10 years of four or more prior violations, but it contains no retroactivity clause and no statement about pre-2031 convictions. The question will matter for the first post-2031 cases and should be answered by a lawyer and by future DMV guidance, not by assumption. Treat any source that gives a certain answer today as guessing.
Related Guides
Check Your DMV Record Before You Rely on Any Timeline
Your DMV notification letter and your court abstract — not a blog table — decide your suspension, your restriction, and your fees. If your case is decided before 2031, Irene’s Law does not apply to it. If you are counting priors toward a future case, get the DMV record and a California DUI defense attorney to read it with you. This guide is general legal information, not legal advice. All statutory quotations above come from the chaptered text of AB 1687 (Chapter 446, Statutes of 2026), new Vehicle Code section 13352.7, as read on leginfo.legislature.ca.gov on October 28, 2026.
DMV DUI page on dmv.ca.gov →Last verified against dmv.ca.gov: October 28, 2026. Statutes and DMV practice change — confirm current rules on dmv.ca.gov or with the Mandatory Actions Unit at (916) 657-6525 before you act.